The Brunch

I had brunch with a friend Saturday. When she asked me – “So how are you doing?” I was very eager to answer, said that I was doing fine. That I was busy trying to make both school and my job work. She replied – “So you’re in school again?” I did sense a feeling of perplexity and at the same time, distaste in her tone. But I ignored it, I really didn’t feel like arguing or explaining myself. So my reply was – “Yes, I’m back in school.” Hoping that she would leave the topic behind. And then she said – “Don’t you think you’re too old for that!” I was very surprised with her answer, and heaven knows that if I could have it my way. I would rather leave the table, pay the bill and disappear. But I couldn’t find it in myself to be impolite, so I kept my silence and tried to change the subject of our conversation. When she said – ” Really, don’t you think we’re too old for school and doing academic stuff?” She really didn’t want to leave the topic off, and that was when I decided to speak up – “No, I’m not too old for academic stuff and neither are you! And there really is no such thing as young and old when it comes to education. Besides, do we really ever stop learning? Cause if that’s the case, everybody would be stuck in the stone age! Don’t you think?” Her eyes were wide open after my reply. But she didn’t dare add fuel to the fire. Next thing we know, we were talking about love, marriage and divorce!

4 comments

  1. Hord · May 12, 2010

    Couldn’t be written any better. Reading this post reminded me of my old margin mate! He unendingly kept talking this and that. I bequeath this article to him. Thanks for sharing!

    • sardonicnell · May 20, 2010

      thanks so much, hord. how was your brunch experience with your friend? looking back, maybe i over reacted. i could have handled it much better. but then again, what’s done is done. hahaha!

  2. lelay · July 3, 2010

    dear nell,

    you are right when you said there is no such thing as young and old when it comes to education. I don’t mind when some Filipino’s asks me that kind of question, but my reaction speaks different. I’d be saying, “Life is a never-ending learning process, even when we get to Heaven, we still need to learn!”

    nell, follow your heart. as long as you know what’s right from wrong, and that you can control your emotions, no one can stop you. 🙂 God bless you, nell. I like reading your blog. Very inspiring. Take care!

    • sardonicnell · July 22, 2010

      thanks so much, lelay. appreciate the kind words and the encouragement. *hugs*

Leave a Reply

