Talking To My Man

I haven’t been feeling well since the other day. It started with muscle pain, then fever, followed by sinus infection and sore throat. It must be the weather, or some sort of bug I caught from the outside world. However, today was much better. I was able to eat more than just soup and crackers. Still have a little bit of muscle pain, fever’s gone, but still has runny nose and throat discomfort.

Then came this afternoon, when my old man came over. Checked to see how I was doing and invited me to go target shooting with him at this indoor range. I really didn’t feel like it at first, but I figured out that I needed to get out of the house. Maybe some fresh air would do me good.

So here we are driving down to South San Francisco, when Dad suddenly interrupt our silence. “You seem very quiet today, something wrong with your tongue? Did you bit on it?” Dad asked. Maybe I was too focused on driving, or wasn’t feeling like my jolly, talkative self. “I’m sorry, Dad. You want us to talk about something?” I said to him.

“Not really, just not use to your silence” Dad said, without even looking at me. “Well, maybe you can tell me about your masters. You doing okay with your class?” He asked. “Everything’s cool, I’m good and you got my email concerning my grades last semester, right?” I said in reply. And then he nodded to confirm that he got my message.

Five minutes has passed and then he said, “Yup, that was impressive! I’m sure your Lola, your aunts and cousins would be thrilled to hear the good news.” I was confuse what Dad was trying to say, and so I asked him. “What was that, Paps?” And then he looked towards my direction and said, “I mean your grades, they’re really good. Better than your cousin Anthony, who’s taking his masters at UC Davis.” And then it hit me, I am being compared, yet again. I have to admit, Dad’s statement ruined my mood, it pissed me off!

I didn’t have the guts to answer back that very minute. I realized that this is my father I’m talking to, I had to be careful what I say. Plus, I didn’t want to be disrespectful or end up being called an ingrate. So while I was shooting my Glock 38 and hitting the target, I was also trying to compose a speech inside my head. And though I was a bit distracted, I was able to finish eight rounds and beat Dad at his game. I was twenty three points ahead of him. Not bad, right?

But then came the drive home, when I’m supposed to confront him. I was shit scared and about to pee in my pants, when he said. “Something wrong, Son?” I looked at my man and said, “Ahmm, it’s about…” I was horrified, stuttering and couldn’t finished my sentence. “Say it!” Dad said in an authoritative voice. Then, I realized this would be my chance to make a stand and share my opinion. So I stopped the car on a curb and finally said it.

“Paps, I respect you and all. But this bragging ritual of yours with auntie and uncle has to stop! It’s annoying and at the same time, insulting. It puts me and my innocent cousins in very bad and odd situations. Not to mention putting our friendship and familiarity on the line. What do we get from this? Absolutely nothing, right? And if we truly are family down to the core. Do we really need to compete against each other and see who’s on top and who’s second rate? I don’t think so. Besides, family’s supposed to stick together!”

And when I was finally done. Dad said, “Are you finished?” I looked at him and answered, “I am and I’m sorry if I’ve upset you!”  He then put his hand on my shoulder and said, “Whoever said I was upset? All I wanted to say was, cut the bullsh*t and go straight to the point. You know me, I don’t do dramas!” And then he ordered me to start the car and drive to the nearest Popeye’s Fried Chicken.

Hahahah…

Jackson

11 comments

  1. Pinky · October 27, 2008

    That was cool! Popeye’s lang pala katapat ng “carefully composed” speech mo – hehehe 🙂

    All’s well that ends well! Hope you’re feeling much better now… Must be the changing weather talaga all over the world – even I have the sniffles, sore throat and ear ache too!

    Take care, kapatid!

  2. Leap of Faith! · October 27, 2008

    At least it ended well, Nell… who won’t be happy with Popeye’s! Glad you and your dad worked it out.

  3. sardonicnell · October 28, 2008

    thank you, PINKY. i am feeling much better today, thank heavens. i think it’s the weather, since the temperatures getting colder on our side of the globe. and speaking of dad, i was so relieved that this is all in the past. i couldn’t honestly believe myself that i was able to get my message thru to him. must be a crazy day 😀

    i thought it would take more than popeye’s chicken, KEITH. hahaha! i’m really glad that dad and i are able to see eye to eye now, without the need to raise our voice. must be the age, he’s starting to soften up a bit. hehehe 😉

    thanks so much guys for your kind comment, mwaaah :mrgreen:

  4. blogRebel · October 28, 2008

    Hi, mejo off topic, but thanks for participating the poll at Bloggista.com 🙂 Cheers!

  5. Loren · October 28, 2008

    Popeye’s can do the rest of the talking. heheh. Your Dad’s way of saying “I understand”.

  6. sardonicnell · October 29, 2008

    you are welcome, BLOGREBEL. it was my pleasure to participate. more power 😉

    indeed, LOREN. i was just glad i didn’t get a whack or a fist from dad. hahaha :mrgreen:

  7. barrycade · October 30, 2008

    that was quite an episode with your paps. kudos for having the courage to say what you wanted.

  8. sardonicnell · October 30, 2008

    i wondered what i ate to have such courage? hahaha. thanks for your kind comment, BARRYCADE. kidding aside, i think i almost peed on my pants. as i was so afraid to offend dad in any way. but thank heavens he was cool with it 😉

  9. julie · October 31, 2008

    I am able to communicate those things to my father although I am not if I am able to influence the way he thinks 🙂

    target shooting, i think I want to try that. My youngest child who is 5yo has interest in guns.

  10. purplegirl · November 3, 2008

    you have such cool parents 🙂

  11. sardonicnell · November 4, 2008

    good for you, JULIE. i didn’t grew up with my dad kasi. so there’s this invisible line between us. but we’re trying to bridge the gap, so that we’ll be much more open 😉

    thank you, PURPLEGIRL. i do think i have good parents, and a very cool mom. hahaha 😀

Leave a Reply

