Bumping Into Love

If I were to bump into my true love

Would I even know he was the one?

Would his eyes sparkle in a different way

Could his smile light up the sun?

As fast as Leonardo came into my life.  It was as brisk, when he was taken away from me. No words were said, only a letter that came months after he was deported back to South America. Life was devastating, I thought love was cruel. I spent each day dreaming I was close to him. That any given minute, he’ll be walking thru the door, calling for me, yelling the words amor. But of course, that didn’t happen. I cried, till there were no more tears. I hold that letter close to my heart, like a piece of priceless jewel. I longed for his touch, his smile, his warm body and his love. But not even his ghost came to me. And so I drown myself in agony and disdain, for it’s the only way I knew how to deal with my grief. It took me a year to get back on knees. Put myself back together and finally, move on.

Then came Saturday, a family affair in Sacramento. I was having lunch, when I accidentally dropped a glass of sangria on the floor. A waiter came, said I was sorry and out came another server carrying another glass of wine. He handed me my drink, and I said thank you. And then I saw him staring at me as he was walking away, and I stared back at him. This man’s face looks familiar. I have seen him before, a man from my horrid past. And then it hit me, it was him. It’s my Leonardo!

Suddenly, I felt a gush of emotion. A mixed of passion, sentiments and haunting pain. I got up, excused myself and rush to the rest room. Afraid that I may cause a scene amidst the presence of my family. And while I was standing in front of the mirror, wiping my tears away. I realized I wasn’t alone in the room, somebody came in from the back. It was him, standing behind me. I was already in tears and he was about to cry. I looked down on the sink, when he grabbed my hand, pulled my body towards him and then hugged me real tight. And then he kissed me, madly and passionately.

Five minutes after, the dream’s finally over. But wait, why’s he still in front of me? He is real, after all and not just a ghost or a thing of my imagination. And so, I grabbed his hand. Got out of the rest room and led him to the table where my family was waiting. They all looked at me, wondering what I was doing holding the waiters hand. And then I said to them — Guys, this is Leonardo. My boyfriend…

20 comments

  1. JoSantos · October 12, 2008

    Love will always find it’s way back home… I’m so happy for you. I wish you both the best.

  2. sardonicnell · October 12, 2008

    thank you, SIS JOSIE. it was totally unexpected, some sort of sweet surprise. heaven knows how long i’ve waited for true love to walk thru my door again. and now that it’s here, i’m afraid there’s no letting go. maybe this old love was meant to be. i don’t know, maybe yes or maybe no. but i’ll take my chances, isn’t that what love’s all about? taking chances 😉

  3. Weng · October 12, 2008

    yiheee! parang hinugot straight out of a romance novel or a soap opera. i can feel your happiness, nelli and i’m very happy for you. didn’t i tell you love will come. 😉 hugs and kisses to you, dearie! mmmwah!

  4. ibyang · October 12, 2008

    oh my, that’s wonderful…happy for you nell 🙂

  5. sardonicnell · October 12, 2008

    i thank you so much, SIS WENG. tama ng ang sabi mo, the right GUY (i hope he is) will eventually come. and medyo novelish nga dating ng entry ko, sounds like gay mills and boon. hahaha! thanks for all the love, the hugs and the kisses, sis. mwaaah 😀

    thank you, IBYANG. words could not express the happiness i feel. it’s indeed a sudden rush of emotions. thanks for the well wishes, i truly appreciate it 😉

  6. bw · October 12, 2008

    That’s a great story my friend and I’m so happy for you ! Perhaps now your depression will be finally over? 😆

  7. sardonicnell · October 12, 2008

    thank you, BW. i am hoping that this renewed love would put a stop to my depression, and i think it’s working. i just have to give it sometime, and get use to this feeling of happiness. thanks for sharing my joy, my good friend 😀

  8. Em Dy · October 12, 2008

    Your story is something else. It makes one believe that fate really has a hand in everything. I read the first part too, and am so happy for both of you and this happy ending.

  9. sardonicnell · October 13, 2008

    thank you so much, EM DY. thank you for taking time to read my blog entries and for the well wishes. to be honest, i never thought that i would meet leonardo again. never in my wildest dream. south america was too far for me to explore to try finding him. but i remember praying to GOD that he brings me TRUE LOVE, and maybe that’s the reason why he was brought back to my life. my experience just proves that with GOD beside us and with sincerest prayers, NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE 😉

  10. Pinky · October 13, 2008

    OMG, Nellieeeee!!!! This scene would put Danielle Steel to shame! 😆

    Thank goodness you dropped that sangria glass! Amazing how people taken so suddenly from our lives can just as soon come back in the most unexpected ways…

    Stay happy and God bless.

  11. barrycade · October 13, 2008

    congrats nell, and thanks for that detailed storytelling. feels like we were also there as patrons of the restaurant, watching your love story unfold right before our eyes.

    cheers to love! hehe 🙂

  12. sardonicnell · October 13, 2008

    thank you, SIS PINKY. i thought gay mills and boons lang etong story ko, pero eto at tinalo pa si danielle steel hah. kaloka, hehehe! but seriously, i thank you for sharing my happiness. i am crossing my fingers na pangmatagalan na eto or kong hindi man eh pang habang buhay na 😉

    thank you, BARRYCADE. i guess when a person is in love eh we tend to share a very graphic story cause we’re all inspired. hehehe! thanks for visiting my blog and sharing our joy, i appreciate it a lot. let’s cheers to love and lifelong passionate relationship 😀

  13. dang · October 15, 2008

    hello dearie! this is so sweet… i wish you stay in love forever! siguro talagang meant to be kayo. i guess life is just really full of surprises! pero ang importante eh masaya ka. as i’ve said before, we only have one life to live! im sure your family was so happy to meet him. timing nga naman!

    how i love the way you made kwento. aabangan ko ang mga susunod pa. cheers! 🙂

  14. sardonicnell · October 15, 2008

    thank you, DANG. magdilang anghel ka sana, so we get to stay in love forever. heaven knows what’s in my heart and how long i’ve waited for the right man to come. sana nga lang eh eto na yon, para tapos na ang paghahanap at paghihintay. dba? thanks for the well wishes and your kind compliment. love yah 😀

  15. Leap of Faith! · October 20, 2008

    Nell, it is weird how fate played a role in your newly revived love life. I am happy for you. I just hope Leonardo was finally able to fix his problem with immigration. Mahirap na if something happens to him again and you will be left here crying again.

    Sorry, I did not mean to burst your bubble… it is just something that has to be dealt with.

  16. sardonicnell · October 22, 2008

    thank you, keith. it means so much that you guys are happy for me. as for his immigration status, he says he took care of it. and i am trusting his word. thanks again, i missed you and pinky so much 😀

  17. Meeya · October 22, 2008

    whatever is in store for you, my friend, i’m sure its all for the best. *hugs*

  18. sardonicnell · October 22, 2008

    thank you, SIS MEEYA. thanks for the well wishes. sadya yatang pang one-night-stand ang beauty ko at napapaligiran ng mga boylets na may sabit. hahaha :mrgreen:

  19. julie · October 22, 2008

    Uy, binasa ko pati yung link mo ha, ay kilig ang lola mo! Pero siyempre ang naisip ko, aba, he has a knack for dropping drinks and those were what made you met him, twice!

    melodramatic nga! 😀

  20. sardonicnell · October 26, 2008

    thanks for your kind comment, julie. alam mo, ngayon ko nga lang napansin that i have this thing about dropping drinks. hahaha! that was a wonderful observation 😀

Leave a Reply

