To The Rescue

I couldn’t hide it from her… If I was bold enough to acknowledge my depression and announce it to the world. She certainly has every right to know and hear what I have to say. At 1 AM, I got my cellphone and called her. Surprisingly, she was still up discussing something with my stepdad. And she knew what was happening right away. She even got upset, the fact that she was last to know. But she eventually calmed down and out came her motherly instinct. I did sensed agitation in her voice, and so I assured her that I’ll be alright. Said she’ll see me in the morning.

To my surprise, I woke up at around 9 AM to see my mother crawling into bed with me. Gave me a kiss on the forehead and wrapped her arms around me. Suddenly, the thirty year old moron transformed itself into a child. Secure in his mothers sweet embrace. It was an ecstatic feeling, something I wish to experience over and over again. Just having my mother beside me made all the difference. I felt safe and free from all the negativities that besets me. Two hours of nuzzling, and I feel refreshed. Mom has filled my deprived soul and gave me the boost I needed. She came to my rescue,  yet again.

Frown

12 comments

  1. julie · October 9, 2008

    Aw, this is so sweet 🙂 You got me teary-eyed.

  2. sardonicnell · October 10, 2008

    didn’t mean to make you teary eyed, JULIE. but having mom beside made me feel better. there’s this sense of security, and hope. thanks so much for your kind comment 😀

  3. Loren · October 10, 2008

    Did I feel some tears lurking in my eyes? We’re a full grown-up and now in control of our life (or so we thought), and sometimes it seems we don’t need our mothers anymore. But when all else fail, mothers won’t fail us.

  4. purplegirl · October 10, 2008

    what a touching story. pinoy parents are not known to show emotions, let alone physical emotion. i salute your mom. i want to be like her when my baby is grown. you are one lucky “child”.

  5. sardonicnell · October 10, 2008

    that is so true, LOREN. we thought we’re all grown up and no longer need our mothers. but after all has come and gone, it is from them that we draw our strength and inspiration. she’s also the only person on this face of the earth, who can love us unconditionally 😉

    i remember what mom use to say to my sister, PURPLEGIRL. she would tell her about motherhood — show your children love and affection, for it is bread and butter for them. they live on it! i guess that’s why mom has always been expressive of her love for us. because we live on it, like rice. hahaha 😀

    thanks so much for your kind comments…

  6. iris · October 10, 2008

    you are sooo lucky nell that you and your mom are so close. some of us have to struggle with that. 😀

    but anyway natuwa ako nung sinabi mong, “the 30 year old moron transformed itself to a child again” 🙂 it’s feels so good to know that someone is still watching over you no matter how old you are. hang in there mafriend! 😀

  7. Leap of Faith! · October 11, 2008

    Ang sarap. Nothing like a mother’s love and embrace.

  8. sardonicnell · October 12, 2008

    thank you, IRIS. guess this proves na kahit anong laki na natin and some of us may even be parents ourselves. that doesn’t stop our MOM and DAD from loving and watching over us 😉

    it is a wonderful feeling, KEITH. felt like a child again 😀

  9. bw · October 12, 2008

    That’s so nice and touching story. Hey, I really don’t think we have grown up in the eyes of our mothers don’t we? Like you, you’re still his little boy forever ! 🙂

  10. sardonicnell · October 12, 2008

    you got that right, BW. we will forever be there boys, and they’ll never stop being our mothers. thanks for your kind comment and for visiting my blog. God bless 🙂

  11. Meeya · October 22, 2008

    a mommy’s embrace is ten times more effective than prozac. tama? 🙂

  12. sardonicnell · October 22, 2008

    sinabi mo pa, SIS MEEYA. and we don’t need to worry of overdose 😉

Leave a Reply

