Pushing My Buttons

I don’t know how many times my good friends have warned me about, Marty. Saying, he’s been blabbing behind my back and spreading rumors here and there. But then I’m not a person who you can easily convince, I don’t go for he-said-she-said stuff. I would rather hear it from the source and settle issues with that person face to face. That’s just me and how I would handle such matter.

So here we are at a friends farewell party and nobody knew I was coming (except for Cee Cee). I was surprising my good friend, Ivan who’s moving back to Sweden in the next couple weeks. Cee Cee out of nowhere came and dragged me to the kitchen, telling me keep my voice down as we listen to someone’s conversation. I was totally surprised, I didn’t know who we’re listening to. But somehow, I was glad she brought me there. For finally, I caught Marty descanting one lie after another. I stood behind the refrigerator with Cee Cee and I heard everything he has to say about me. It was absolutely awful, and all lies to begin and end with. However, Marty was interrupted when he heard a common friend call out my name. And then he dashed off and locked himself in the bathroom. Truly, he didn’t have the balls to face me. I wonder why?

Two hours have passed and almost all the guest have left. Cee Cee and I were patiently waiting in her car (I hid mine a block away from Ivan’s house) for Marty to get out. I just couldn’t leave without confronting my ex-friend (that’s what he is now). I also wanted this gossiping to end, once and for all. And I wouldn’t be in peace, if I let the night pass without saying a word. And so, after ten minutes of waiting we  saw Marty sneeking out thru the back door. But dumb fool, he parked his car a couple meters away from Cee Cee’s. And soon as he was about to get in his car, I showed myself and he was shocked in disbelief. He turned pale and was freaking nervous, that he couldn’t even put his key in.

“Oh dear, Marty. You can’t leave just yet, we have some unfinished business to attend.” I said to him. His eyes were wide open, “Please Nell, don’t hurt me!” I had all the plans of beating him up, but I didn’t. “And why would I do that, Marty? Do I look like a mob to you?” I said with a grin. Suddenly he got on his knees and said, “God, I’m so sorry. I’m so sorry! I won’t do it again.” Looks like someone’s guilty. “But we haven’t even discussed anything yet.” And here’s Cee Cee behind me laughing. She yelled out, “You are one piece of timid scum, Marty!” Obviously, he was scared as hell and  almost peed in his pants. I felt sorry for the guy, so I just said to him, “Hey Marty, I’ll keep this talk short and simple, okay? If I ever hear you talk smack about me again. There will be no confrontations like this. I’d rather beat the living daylight out of you than talk garbage. Are we clear?” He nodded and then I turned my back. Marty quickly got in his car and drove off. Cee Cee and I gave each other a high five and went separate ways after.

Honestly, I was so close to wrestling Marty down if not for Cee Cee who talked me out of it. She told me to think a couple times before taking actions. But I swear, the next time he does that to me. I certainly wouldn’t mind teaching that fool a lesson. My two year Judo training would certainly come in handy. Hahahah!

7 comments

  1. Weng · May 9, 2008

    “Please, Nell, don’t hurt me.” Hahahah! Nell, I’m so proud of you for keeping your cool. You’re a changed person. Hee hee! It must have taken a lot of self control to keep from beating up Marty. Makiki high-five na rin ako sa inyo ni Cee Cee! 🙂

    hahaha! promise sis weng, if not for cee cee who brought me back to my senses. di malayong naupakan ko na ang mokong na marty’ng yon. i just couldn’t believe a friend, or someone i showed true kindness can stab me from the back. but then again, i’m not the one who lost a good friend. some people talaga, terrible to the max! pero word of caution, sa susunod eh wala ng pase-pasensya. paliliparin at ibabalibag ko syang parang pizza dough sa ere. hahahah, happy week end. mwaaah :mrgreen:

  2. Thess · May 9, 2008

    awww, what gentle spirit you really have! habang binabasa ko eh gusto ko umbagan marty na yan. pero mas ok style mo at hindi mo pinatulan ang ahas na yan…

    pero pag ginawa pa ulit, promise mo lang may pictures habang nire-wrestling mo ha? 😀

    nell, have a fine weekend and tc!
    btw tag’s accomplished 🙂

    hello sis thess. kong ako lang masusunod eh uumbagin ko na talaga ang mokong. kaya lang cee cee talked me out of it. di raw bagay beauty ko sa city jail, hahaha! pero promise, sa susunod eh wala ng usap usap. upakan na, hahaha! and syempre i’ll have cee cee take photos while i wrestle marty down, bwahaha! ang sama ko noh? happy week end kapatid and thanks so much for doing the tag. mwaaah 😀

  3. Pinky · May 10, 2008

    Hay naku, Nell, ganyang talaga ang mga “empty cans”, malakas lang mag-rattle but in reality, no substance naman.

    I’m happy that you had the sense in you not to stoop down to his level by hurting him physically as you definitely proved you are the “better man” by handling the tense situation firmly and with diplomacy.

    You’re right, though, there shouldn’t be a next time or else your martial arts skills might just be handy 😉

    Enjoy the rest of your weekend, kapatid!

    hello sis pinky. sabi ko nga eh, if i could have it my way eh malamang nakasakit na ako na tao at kasalukuyang nasa piitan. hahaha, but cee cee (being the angel that she is) talked to me and made me realize the consequences. she does have a point, and i thank her for watching over my shoulder. and itong si marty naman, he called me last night at nag-aapologize ulit. but i hanged up on him in the middle of our conversation. maybe some other time na ako makikinig, hehehe. taray noh? happy week end to you guys, mwaaah 😀

  4. bw · May 10, 2008

    wooo.. he was caught red handed. buti naman he behaved like a dog with his tail inside his butt at hindi pa nagmalaki o nagtapang-tapangan.. otherwise baka nagsabong kayong dalawa ! I would never trust that guy ever again 😦

    i probably won’t, bw. i hate to say that i couldn’t trust the guy no more, nor can he be in my crowd. i’d probably end up going to jail if i continue to do so. and speaking of behaving like a dog, i don’t think he’ll ever fight me. alam nyang hindi ako namimili ng kaaway — girl, boy, bakla, tomboy, butiki or baboy eh pinapatulan ko. hahahah :mrgreen:

  5. tulipfleurs · May 11, 2008

    Hello . . . it’s me . . . This unfortunate episode you had with Marty just goes to show that you are a much bigger person by not loosing your cool. I know it must have be hard because I probably would have beat the living crap if I heard someone talk crap about me. Yeah, right! But seriously, good for you for handling it well. At least Marty knows now not to talk crap about you and most importantly, how much a fool he made out of himself. On another note… Nell, kailan tayo mag ge-get together? Have you heard of that Pizza/ Filipino Restaurant that is located in the next city where you live? We were there last Friday night, meron silang karaoke. Ha! Ha! Anyhoo, call me and sorry for not visiting your blog often enough. I’m still addicted to Flickr. Hee! Hee! Warm hugs . . . – Lulu –

    thank you, lulu. thanks to cee cee, she made me realize that i should learn how to pick my battles. but if i could have in my way, malamang eh wrestle mania na ang ngyari. hahahah! speaking of meet up, how about we see each other in berkeley (ie ici’s, zachary’s pizza). there’s nothing much here in my area kasi, hehehe. sige at pag usapan natin minsan hah. belated happy mothers days to you dear. hope you had a great week end. mwaaah 😀

  6. Leap of Faith! · May 12, 2008

    Wow, Nell, medyo I got scared for Marty… you sounded so Terminator or Rambo like… You can’t just leave yet, we have some unfinished business to attend to… Two thumbs up ako sa iyo, Nell! Sorry, I had mental images of you and the bubblegum bully… hindi ka pa rin nagbago after several years… matapang pa rin.

    I hope Marty learned his lesson.

    hahaha, it was more like i’m ready to ramble, wrestle mania seven, keith. bwahaha! but then i’m thankful to having cee cee at my side, at least na realize ko that beating marty up wouldn’t do any good. buti nga at nadala sa sindak, hahaha. thanks for the cheer, keith. but i must admit that bubble gum incident was my fave incident. makes me wonder kong nasaan na yong girl na dinikitan ko ng gum, bwahaha :mrgreen:

  7. iris · May 12, 2008

    haha that was a riot nell. he really was scared of you huh? eh di sana hindi ka nalang niya ni-bad mouth 🙂 labo niyang marty na yan. anyway good for you, i think you taught him a really good lesson. 🙂

    hello iris. let’s just say that marty’s one of those guys na kulang sa pansin. and making up stories is his way of attracting the crowd. alam mo bang takot na takot ang bakla nong nakita nya ako, tagal din yang nagkulong sa banyo. hahaha! and he deserves to be in the bathroom, cause he’s a piece of crap. bwahaha! forgive my language nalang, but that’s how i feel about that fool. hehehe 😛

Leave a Reply

