Quirky Things About Me

I’ve been tagged by my good friend, Weng

Here’s the rules:

Link to the person that tagged you. Post the rules on your blog. Share six unimportant things/habits/quirks about your self. Tag 6 random people at the end of your post by linking to their blogs. Let these random people know that they are tagged by leaving comments in their blog. Let your tagger know when your entry is up.

Now, here’s my end of the deal…

Girl Scout, Lahing Handa. I have this habit of keeping a luggage bag filled with my five-day necessities. I’d usually have it inside the coat cabinet or the trunk of my car. In it I have clothes, a portable dvd player, dvd’s, mp3 player, a journal, a book, magazine, blankets, towels, grooming products and even food (i.e. corn beef, vienna sausage, spam, water). I guess that makes me feel at ease knowing that I’ll stay alive, in case I get stranded somewhere.

The Book Collector. Yup, that’s me. I cannot live without them, nor can I last a week without visiting a book store. I just had to check out the new releases and stuff they have at the clearance section. Hehehe!

No Shortcuts. When it comes to taking a bath, I tend to spend a good hour or an hour and a half. And I don’t do shortcuts, period. I’d rather be late than feel uncomfy the whole day.

The Probono Queen. Yet another title affixed to my name. Everytime I hear these words, it reminds me of my Dad saying, ” no wonder you’re stone broke! ”  As an accountant, I don’t know how many times I’ve done favors (that’s what I call it, not work) for people. And I don’t ask for compensation either. Guess, I’m shy to ask. But I do take it when they offer, hahaha!

The Lady of the House. I have to thank my mother for raising me (unlike my siblings, hehehe) well. If not for her training, I don’t know how I could manage running the household. From home chores, grocery shopping (that includes clipping coupons), paying the bills, managing my fathers biz and family finances, and last but not least, child care. I do it all, and don’t ask me how I do it. I just manage to get thru somehow…

Ailurophile. Not too many people know that I love cats and they’ve been part of my life since I was a child. So it was no surprise when I became a cat fancier slash breeder. I’ve shown and bred Tonkinese, Bicolor Persians and nowadays, Devon Rex. I’ve been traveling all across the continental US, showing my cats. There were even occassions when I exhibited overseas. Driving up to Canada, Mexico and flying the blue skies to show in Germany and Austria. As my mother would call my hobby, cat addiction.

So there goes my six quirky things. And to keep the ball rolling, I am tagging my blogging friends: Abby, Bangge, Sis Thess, Jen, Keith and Lulu. No rush, and at your own convenience please. Thank you guys in advance!

My Reads For December

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. weng · May 7, 2008

    nell! thanks for doing this right away. 🙂 ako kasi inaabot ng buwan ang mga tags sa akin. hee hee.

    type ko ang iyong girl-scout-laging-handa essentials. that really makes a lot of sense. and about your being ailurophile, naku, don’t hate me ha, ako naman bata pa ako, ayaw ko ng cats. kinikilabutan talaga ako, nell! pramis! baka kasi puro pusakal ang nakikita ko sa pinas kaya ganun. pero kung sa show cats ako naexpose, baka mas naging ok. hahaha.

    thanks again, nell. mmmwah!


    it was my pleasure, weng. thanks for sharing this tag, pero medyo na squeeze ang brain cells ko hah. kaya nga nagtanong nalang ako sa mga kapatid ko kong ano ang quirky sa akin, hehehe. as for the girl scout thingy, paano kasi before na stranded ako in the middle of the mojave desert. naloka ako and help didn’t get to me till eight hours after. syempre kabado at bored to death ang beauty ko sa kalagitnaan ng desyerto. yikes! as for the cats naman, ewan ko ba kong bakit fascinated ako sa pusa. must be there independent nature, they’re not too high maintenance din kasi and they’re adorably sweet. thanks for your kind comment. mwaaaah 😀

  2. tulipfleurs · May 7, 2008

    Nell . . sorry it has taken me awhile to get to this meme. Anyhoo, when you have time, I’ve listed mine. It’s been so long that I blogged that I have to remember how to link the names to the site. LOL! Well, it was fun doing. I only did what came to mind. Ha! Ha! Love and hugs . . . – Lulu –


    hello lulu, thanks so much for doing this tag. and you have a thing of plastics? that’s very interesting hah. i guess your affinity for plastics fine as long as it’s not the plastic kind of people. bwahaha! thanks again for doing this, and your did just fine. no worries, okay. love and hugs to you, too. mwaaah 😀

  3. Leap of Faith! · May 8, 2008

    Nell, sobra ka naman sa pag handa… ang dami mong nilalagay sa luggage mo in case of emergency… I think you are not a Girl Scout but the Scout Leader (Mother)… hehehe!

    One and a half hour of taking a bath?! I thought may drought diyan sa California? My son was surprised to hear how long you take a bath… I guess I should feel embarassed kasi I can take a bath in just a few minutes…

    And yes, like Weng, I’m not too fond of cats either… I think I like dogs more.


    hehehe, ikaw talaga keith. scout leader pala hah! i guess medyo na trauma lang ako sa naging experience ko before. na stranded kasi ako ng mga eight hours sa kalagitnaan ng mojave desert before, kaya natuto akong maging ever ready. hehehe! and speaking of bathe, di naman ligo lang. kasama na dyan ang pag blowdry ng buhok, pag tooth brush, paglolotion ng buong katawan, paglalagay ng contact lens and kong ano ano pang anik anik. heheheh! so maraming process na involve, eka nga nila. and speaking of cats naman, i just had this attraction to them since noong bata pa ako. i started noon sa pamumulot ng pusang kalye, till now that i have purebred CFA cats. and i do like dogs, too. but not as much as a like cats, hehehe. happy thursday 😉

  4. Meeya · May 8, 2008

    uy probono queen, kaya ang sarap mong maging friend eh, haha! todo bigay, literally. 🙂 i loved reading about your quirks, it helped me get to know you better. 🙂


    thank you, meeya. ganyan talaga ako sa aking mga mahal sa buhay (kasama ka na don, chooooz), todo bigay. i’m a very transparent and warm person kasi by nature, kaya pag mahal ko eh talagang ipapadama ko. heheheh, although madalas akong sumablay sa puntong yan pagdating sa love life. paano naman, boylets tend to take advantage. sigh… anyhow, thanks for your kind comment. kaibigan kang tunay, mwaaah 😉

  5. Pingback: Six Quirky Things About Me « Leap of Faith!
  6. Thess · May 9, 2008

    ‘Sis Thess’ …ilang taon na lang at baka Mother Thess na tawag mo sa akin hala! *lol* basta buoin mo na ‘theresa’ ha 😉

    Masyadong mabilis ka pala maligo ha ha! Siguro tuklap na balat ng kilikili mo sa tagal ng hilod na ginagawa mo he he

    sister, kailangan maging exhibitionist ka rin sa Holland! aha haha, ang laswa ng tunog, I mean syempre dala ang iyong cats (I mean pusa, hindi cats na 2 ang paa…hay hanubeyan, kung ano-ano naiisip ko)..at naniniwala akong girl scout ka talaga 🙂

    salamat sa tag…gagawin ko na after this…muah!!

    enjoy your weekend !!!


    hello mader theresa, este sis thess pala. hehehe! speaking of pagliligo, di nga matuklap itong balat ko, palibhasa eh balat kalabaw. hahahah, ang sama ko noh? and tungkol naman sa cat shows, i was actually invited by my good friend ulrike to show my cats at there upcoming show in germany. but i have yet to decide, sa end of september pa naman eh. and then nabanggit nya sa akin na meron din daw sa wijchen couple weeks after that. so i maybe seeing you, pretty soon. God willing and if my finances permits me to do so. and i have yet to check if i can get a quarantine waiver should i show across europe. kaya ipagdasal natin sis na matuloy 😉

    and thanks so much sis for doing the tag, maasahan ka talaga kapatid. pa kiss and hug nga dyan, mwaaaah. love yah lots and miss you. have a great week end and happy mothers day :mrgreen:

  7. Pingback: Quirky Things about me | Dagboek van Thesserie
  8. banggigay · May 10, 2008

    finished ko na po 🙂 thanks for tagging me 😉


    thanks so much, bangge. happy week end to you 😉

  9. iris · May 12, 2008

    the queen and lady titles i can understand, but girl scout? hehe that’s so cute nell! 🙂 and i love neil gaiman too. have you read his blog?


    hehehe, girl scout langing handa, ok dba? hahaha. pero sabi nga nila na better safe than sorry. at least eh kong may last minute byahe eh naka-impake na ako. dba? and speaking of neil gaiman, i have two of his books. a friend of mine introduced me to his site. and i’m learning to love his work, too, hehehe 😉

Leave a Reply

