City By The Bay

The loveliness of Paris seems somehow sadly gay
The glory that was Rome is of another day
I’ve been terribly alone and forgotten in Manhattan
I’m going home to my city by the Bay

San Francisco

I left my heart in San Francisco
High on a hill, it calls to me
To be where little cable cars climb halfway to the stars
The morning fog may chill the air, I don’t care.

Poppies

My love waits there in San Francisco
Above the blue and windy sea
When I come home to you, San Francisco
Your golden sun will shine for me…

View From COIT Tower

5 comments

  1. Pinky · April 6, 2008

    Lovely scenic pics! Keith and I should really take photography lessons from you πŸ™‚

    thanks for the kind words, pinky. pero unfortunately eh newbie din ako sa photography, i did a month lessons from our community college and syempre basa-basa ng books; but that’s about it. pero i’d be glad to share whatever knowledge i have with you guys. thanks again, mwaaah πŸ˜€

  2. Leap of Faith! · April 7, 2008

    I second , Pinky. Your photos are so beautiful and then you match it pa your poetic verses. Galing!

    thank you, keith. yours and pinky’s comments are truly heartwarming and inspiring. sobrang nakakataba ng puso and the same time humbling, since i’m just new to photography. love you guys, mwaah πŸ˜‰

  3. munchkinmommy · April 7, 2008

    nell, it’s been years since i’ve been to san francisco. 11 pa lang ako the first and only time i was there. but through your photos, it’s like i’m always there. and i thank you for that. mmwah!

    you’re absolutely welcome, weng. and i’m glad you like the photos. hmmm, maybe it’s time to revisit sfo? say mo πŸ˜‰

  4. bw · April 8, 2008

    Nice pics that tell a story! The first paragraph is the sort of the intro which I love when Tony Bennet sings it. I remember when I was a liitle boy my uncle brought home a bunch of LP records from the States and one of them was the Tony Bennett LP. Every time I hear this song along with Smile it brings back great memories of my childhood days πŸ™‚

    thank you, bw. tony bennet is one of my parents fave singers and i hear it almost every time i visit them, not including karaoke nights. hahahah! glad you like photos, God bless πŸ˜‰

  5. Meeya · April 14, 2008

    hi nell, some people don’t agree with me when i tell them i love SF. masyadong crowded daw kasi – like being in frisco quezon city, hehe! pero i think therein lies her charm, di ba?

    anyway, great pics nell. i can tell that you really heart your city. πŸ™‚

    i’m glad to hear that you love SFO, meeya. indeed, medyo crowded sya kaya nga sa suburbs din ako nakatira, hahaha. besides the fact that i cannot afford living in frisco, hehehe. but what i like most about the city is the history and it’s charm (remember, castro district). i guess SFO tickles my fancy on a lot of things, like: food, wine, museums, history, the beaches, farmers market, the weather, the people, syempre nan dyan din ang jollibee, goldilock, red ribbon, barrio fiesta, things pinoy eka nga nila. somehow, kahit malayo ako sa pinas. i just drive 15-30 mins to either union city or daly city, and it feels like i never left home. sabi nga sa panatang makabayan — pilipino sa isip, sa salita at sa gawa. truly, am a pinoy thru and thru. ang drama ko, dba? hahahah πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

