A Reason To Live

I was doing my midnight read, when I remembered this song from my childhood years. I forgot how it starts, but I could still sing the chorus line. It goes like this:

We are the reason why He gave his life,

We are the reason that He suffered and died,

To the world that was lost,

He gave all He could give,

To show us the reason to live.

Forgive me for being melodramatic, but somehow the lyrics brought tears to my eyes. I don’t know exactly if it’s my conscience or as my grandmother would say — the Holy Spirit. But whatever it is, my emotions started acting up.

Why am I here? There should be substantial reason for my existence. Right? And then the answer came to me. I live, because I am loved. Someone sacrificed His life in exchange for mine. That alone, should be enough reason for me to celebrate life to the fullest. And not waste my time whining and asking all the sorts of question.

The answer’s real simple, unfortunately time made it all complicated. Forget about wealth and financial success. God simply wants us to live, love and be happy!

Purple Flowers

5 comments

  1. Pinky · March 27, 2008

    Looks like you’ve hit a gold mine there, Nell! In this world of crass materialism and the “me-myself-and-I” mentality, it’s so easy to get lost in all the “lures” of the world when this simple truth is what can really make us happy all along. Thanks for sharing this. I really needed it. Warm hugs to you!

    you’re welcome, pinky. and thanks so much for the heartwarming words. it’s quite normal to get lost is this self-conceited world, eka nga nila. but if there’s LOVE in someone’s heart, the path eventually clears. this is my living mantra now — live, love and be happy. big warms hugs to you, too. 😉

  2. Jo Nadem · March 27, 2008

    I know this song and I could feel why this put you into tears. There are a lot of things in life that we dont understand. But I am sure He has a good purpose on why we are here now…

    you got that right, jo. we do have a purpose why we’re here, we just have to open our eyes, our hearts and our minds. thanks for the comment, God bless 😉

  3. Meeya · March 27, 2008

    i know that song. 🙂 it brings out a sigh from my lips everytime.

    pero more than that, i appreciate this entry. not a lot of people can say that they truly understand the real meaning of their existence in this world. i’m glad your heart is in the right place right now. *hugs*

    happy easter, nell!

    belated happy easter, meeya. thanks for that wonderful comment, natouch ako hah. papaiyakin mo naman ako nyan, my dear. heheheh! it’s funny how i found the meaning of existence thru a song. must be the Holy Spirit nga working it’s magic on me. sabi nga don sa kanta —I’ve finally found the reason for living. It’s in giving every part of my heart to Him. big warm hugs to you, meeya. mwaaah 😀

  4. munchkinmommy · March 27, 2008

    alam mo, ang song na ito ang favorite sa mga retreats! and for obvious reasons. 🙂 you’re right on the money when you said you should celebrate life to the fullest. tama yun! kami ng mommy ko, we always remind each other to celebrate everything….kahit yung mga maliliit lang na blessings (although wala naman talagang maliit na blessing). everything that gives us joy, we should celebrate. because that’s one sure way that we’ll have many more of little and big joys to celebrate. hay, heto na naman ako. masasabihan na naman akong para akong pari. hahaha! 😀 God bless, nell!

    now that you mention it, weng. mukhang sa retreat ko nga eto narinig, mga elementary or highschool sigure ako non. pero totoo naman ang sabi ng kanta dba? living life to the fullest is the very least we can do for God’s sacrifice. simple lang naman talaga ang buhay eh, nahaluan lang ng kong anu-anong complications na tao rin ang may gawa. sabi nga don sa isang soap opera na napanood ko, one life to live! kaya let’s not put it to waste. maikli lang buhay, each and everyday is a blessing in itself; for us to make a difference. dba? and there’s no such thing as big or small grace, these things are never meant to be measured or gauged. they’re supposed to be felt by our hearts and minds. so let’s live, love and be happy. mwaaah 😀

  5. Toni · March 27, 2008

    Live, love, laugh. Keep that positivity burning. 🙂

    hi toni, i so love your mantra. so let’s think happy and positive thoughts, mwaah 😉

Leave a Reply

