Do Not Quit

This reminds me of COCC, CAT and ROTC days. But what amazes me is how this piece of poetry keeps me motivated to persevere, and not give up on the first sign of failure. And when I’m done reading it line by line,  suddenly something inside me says — fight on, fight to win!

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a fellow turns about
When he might have won had he stuck it out.
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than
It seems to a faint and faltering man.
Often the struggler has given up
When he might have captured the victor’s cup.
And he learned too late when the night came down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out,
The silver tint in the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It might be near when it seems afar.
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit,
It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.

Release The Dragon

5 comments

  1. iris · February 23, 2008

    i like this poem. you wrote this nell?

    thanks iris, glad you like it. but i didn’t wrote this poem, wish i’ve known who it is 😀

  2. bw · February 23, 2008

    “It’s when things seem worst that you must not quit.”

    As Henry Ford said – “Whether you think that you can, or that you can’t, you are usually right.”

    Have faith in yourself and hang in there bro. You can do it 🙂

    a million thanks, bw. i’ev always believe in this saying that “whenever God puts a tear in our eyes, it’s because He wanted us to see the rainbow in the sky” dba? He won’t give us trials we can’t surpass. thanks again and have a great week end 😀

  3. Leap of Faith! · February 24, 2008

    Nell, this is such a nice poem. It really makes you want to face all challenges and never give up. Hope all goes well for you…

    thank you, keith. i’ve red this poem before nong high school and whenever i feel the world is all againts me. all i do is is read it again, and i feel much better after. i’m trying to stay positive and hope it stays that way 😉

  4. tulipfleurs · February 24, 2008

    Hello my dear . . . talaga hanga ako dahil . . . remember that letter I was to write to JP for his spiritual retreat? Well, I finally finished it by the due date of 2/14 and his 2-day retreat starts tomorrow. Anyhoo, long story short, would you believe after I wrote him a lengthy letter, I included 3 inspirational poems, of which one is the same thing you posted, but this one was entitled, “When Things Go Wrong.” When I read your post, I remembered right away it was the same poem that I had given to retreat facilitator to give to JP. That letter and poems will be given to him. It was my own special way to share with JP some of my own favorite poems that has helped me through our trials and tribulations in life. Same goes for you, too Nell. It’s true . . . God will not give us a cross that we cannot handle . . .although there are times when the cross is very heavy. I guess he’s testing our faith. Well, call me if you need to talk . . . hang in there, and I’m just an ear-shot away. Love & hugs . . . – Lulu

    P.S. I would like to share with you the letter that I wrote to JP, along with the other 2 poems that I have included. I’ll email them next time. 🙂

    hello lulu, glad to hear you’re able to finished JP’s retreat letter. i’m sure he’ll be moved after reading it. i’ve red this poem before when i was still in highschool and when i’m down, eh i would read it over and over again. and after doing so, eh i’m lifted and able to surpass the ordeals that comes my way. in my heart, i know God wouldn’t give me anything i cant handle. kaya kakayanin ko eto! thanks for always extending a helping hand, you truly are heaven sent. God bless and have a wonderful day 😉

  5. Meeya · February 25, 2008

    you really have a knack for finding the most inspirational poems. life is queer indeed! 🙂 thanks for this nell! *muah*

    you are most welcome, meeya. i’m glad you like it and have drawn some inspiration from this wonderful piece of poetry. hope you guys had a wonderful week end. mwaaah 😀

Leave a Reply

