Justice Was Served

Silence never won rights.  They are not handed down from above; they are forced by pressures from below.  -Roger Nash Baldwin-

 It was my aunts 60th birthday yesterday and we all decided to go out for dinner at this newly opened chinese restaurant. I called in to make reservations for twenty people, and was told that they’ll be holding our seats 6:30 PM. I said it was fine, since it wasn’t too far. But then came 6 o’clock and we are still missing six people, so I called the restaurant and said that we are coming in a little bit late. But we will surely be there to have dinner. The lady on the phone said it was alright, and I hanged up.

We made it to our destination at about 6:45 PM and all twenty people were present. I checked in at the counter and said, “Good evening, I believe we have reservation for twenty guests. The name would be under Nell Reyes.” The attentant looked at his book and said, “You guys are late. We gave your seats to someone else!” Take note, he didn’t even bother saying hi, hello or good evening. Grrrr! And when he said that, I felt a bit irate, but still kept my cool. “I talked to a lady earlier and was told that she’ll extend our reservation in as long as we showed up” I said to the guy. He then left the counter without saying a word and asked the people working in the rear side area of the restaurant. He came back after and said “I’m sorry, I asked them but they don’t know who took your call.” By the time I heard that, I started raising my voice. I have twenty people with me and not enough seats for my relatives to wait, and all they can tell me is they’re sorry. Dad pulled me to the side requesting that we just leave and go elsewhere. But I told him that these people need a lesson in customer service. So I walked up to the counter again and asked to speak with the manager. Who unfortunately was not in, great! So I ask for a supervisor and here comes a guy from the kitchen wearing his apron. “Yes, can I help you?” And I told this gentleman the whole story and guess what he said to me, “You were late, so we give your seats to other customers.” I think I turned pale upon hearing this and could not control myself any longer, “Were you paying attention to what I said? Someone here from your restaurant told me that it was okay for us to be late. Now what part of that don’t you get? Cause if that person told me that they couldn’t hold our seats any longer. I wouldn’t think twice going elsewhere!” The said supervisor then raised his voice and told us to get out, then pointing to this sign on the wall that says, We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone! This people are surely testing my patience and so I decided to give them a lesson they’ll never forget. It so happen that I know a thing or two about civil law and business ethics. “Do you know that what you’re doing is unlawful. According to the Civil Act of 1964, Title III. Discrimination in hotels, restaurants, and all other public accommodations engaged in interstate commerce is considered a violation, therefore  punishable by law. And by you doing this to me and twenty other people would probably result to some hefty civil penalties. Now do you really want to pissed me off and lecture me on rights?” The guy was quiet and quickly called someone on the phone. Minutes after, a lady came to the door and asked to talked to me in private. In our conversation, she claimed that she is the owner and the one I talked to on the phone. She kept on apologizing and ordered the waiters to clear a room to accomodate us. She was far more courteous and graceful than the first two people I initially had a conversation with. The lady also told a waiter to take off the sign.

Needless to say, we were then seated and given the food menus. The owner personally took our orders, and then I asked to speak with her. “I am hoping that your people don’t do anything unsanitary on our food cause of what happened earlier. I’m sure you know what I mean. Right?” The lady said in a pleading voice, “Oh no no Sir. I guarantee you the food will be fresh and clean.” I thank her after and she went to the kitchen. After a good hour and a half in the restaurant and enjoying the wonderful meal. My Dad then asked for the bill, we were absolutely surprised when we found out that we were given 50% discount. It was a kind gesture, but we refused the offer. In appreciation, the owner gave us free desserts — fried sweet banana and vanilla ice cream. We paid the bill, thank the kind lady (and apologized for what has happened earlier) and left the building.

Surely, I am no darn lawyer or ever will be. But I sure know some of my rights. And sometimes, knowing them by heart can work towards our advantage…

Eat

22 comments

  1. Leap of Faith! · February 4, 2008

    Nell, that was so funny. In their face – Civil Act of 1964, Title III. I wonder if I can also use that Law here in the Mid East – baka lang patayin ako when I say that!!!

    The food looks so yummy. But, wait, did someone spit on that plate of pork loin (???) or is that just the sauce? Hmm, anyway, you all seem to be okay now so it must be just the sauce 🙂

  2. sardonicnell · February 4, 2008

    hahahaha! loko ka talaga, keith. siguro naman eh may law din dyan sa middle east about discrimination sa mga public establishments. reason why i know this civil act of 1964, was cause of this class i took back in college. business and government yata yon or legal mgnt, kaya may konti akong nalalaman. besides that, i was once an intern at this business law firm in downtown san francisco.

    the food was indeed yummy and wala naman kaming napansin na kakaiba. tsaka kinausap ko rin yong owner about the sanitation, cause i’ve heard rumors about spit and all that. uyyy, di spit yong nasa pork loin, red bbq sauce yon hah. pinakaba mo ko, hehehe. and so far buhay kaming lahat, wala namang na food poison sa amin. bwahaha :mrgreen:

    ps: ang masarap dyan eh yong scallops and the veggies with sea cucumber, uhhhhmmm good…

  3. cee cee boom · February 5, 2008

    i knew it, not a week would go by without you being sarcastic. oh well, you’re not called sardonic nell for no reason. right?

  4. tulipfleurs · February 5, 2008

    Hello Nell! Good for you!!! I’ve encountered some “rude” wait staff at numerous “Chinese” Restaurants. Sometimes they just lack business & social grace so it’s good that you stood up for your rights. Anyhoo, if you don’t mind me asking, where is this Chinese resto? Was the food as good as it looks here in the photo? Despite the incident at the restaurant, I hope your aunt had a very enjoyable birthday celebrating with the familia. 🙂

  5. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    hi cee cee, i don’t know kong dapat ba akong matuwa or mainis sayo. hahaha! remember, ikaw ang nagbinyag sa akin ng name na yan. humanda ka sa akin mamaya, sardonic pala hah 😀

  6. Meeya · February 5, 2008

    ay kung ako yan, iniwanan ko ang restaurant and would have given another more accomodating restaurant my business. kung ayaw nila, ayaw ko rin sa kanila. sayang din yun, a meal for 20 people, hindi barya yan. besides, takot akong malawayan yung pagkain ko, hahaha!

    anyway, bilib talaga ako sa fighting spirit mo nell! as long as nasa tama ka, you’re truly entitled to what you were promised. idol! 🙂

  7. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    good day, lulu. nakakaloka nga yong nangyari and to be honest, medyo nahiya rin ako sa pamilya ko. but you know me, i’m not going to let people treat us like crap. hehehe, dad was a bit upset nga with me eh. but i made him know my reasons, poor customer service has no place in business. dba? anyhow, i’ll email you the name of the resto. pero in fairness, masarap ang food nila and tita mel had a wonderful birthday celebration. thanks and hope your week end was great 😉

  8. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    hahahah, ikaw talaga meeya. idol mo ako? saan? sa pakikipag away ba? hahahah! sa totoo lang eh paalis na rin sana kami and headed for a buffet resto nalang. pero tama bang itaboy mo ang customers, twenty katao pa yon hah. bongga dba? pati nga uncle and aunt kong lawyers eh nag react, they happen to be part of that twenty guests. nainis rin sila nong itinuro nong ugok yong sign na, we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone. they even gave that guy a lecture, like i did to them. hahahah! what can i say, it runs in the family. and ang mahirap kasi nong time na yon eh may mga chikiting kaming kasama so medyo inconvenient kong lilipat pa kami. tsaka ang dami kasi namin eh. pero tingin ko naman eh di nalawayan yong food namin, kasi sinabihan ko yong owner. takot lang nila, itatawag ko talaga sila sa city sanitation dept. hahahah! pero in fairness, masarap yong food and mabait yong owner. toxic lang yong mga staff, hahahah :mrgreen:

  9. joy · February 5, 2008

    Food looked good! Kaso takot ako. You sure they didn’t spit on it, or used spoons they dipped in the toilet?

    Well, I hope you enjoyed the party and good on you to give him a piece of your mind!

    joy
    A Pinay In England
    Your Love Coach
    The Goddess In You
    Norwich Daily Photo

  10. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    thanks joy! pero mukha namang walang ginawang masama sa food namin. besides, i have this odd practice of asking for a cup of boiling hot water to sanitize my silverware when i’m dining at a place na di ako familiar. heheheh! and speaking of the food, it was good and my aunt enjoyed the dinner we threw in her behalf 😀

  11. ann · February 5, 2008

    Grabe! Hindi ko kaya powers mo ah! Kung ako siguro lilipat na lang din…hehehe.

    Hindi ba sumakit tyan nyo…hahaha! Just kidding.

  12. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    hello ann, sa awa naman eh di sumakit mga tyan namin. na over kain nga kami eh sa sarap. hahahah! anong hindi mo kaya powers ko, kayang kaya mo yan. alam mo pag ang isang tao eh harap harapang dinidisrespect eh kelangan namang umalma. dba? wala naman sana akong balak magtaray, pero di ko gusto tabas ng dila nong supervisor kuno at pinalayas pa raw kami, tama ba yon? kaya ayon, lumabas ang pagiging amazona ko. hahahaha! btw, i saw that video of joshua. yong kagat labi ba, he is so adorable. promise, game na game ang anak mo. thanks for your kind comment dear 😉

  13. iris · February 5, 2008

    *clap clap* galing nell. hehe. i would’ve done the same thing. that was pertty rude of the staff. and they had to let it get to the owner before they did something about it. a complete waste of time, really. thing is, (not to be racist or anything, and if those people were indeed chinese), it’s really not chinese people’s inherent traits to be polite and all that. i had a really bad experience in Hongkong before, in fact. well anyway you had good food naman and it was all worth it! hehe.

  14. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    ay kahiya, nag blush pa raw ako sa sinabi mo iris. hahahah! sabi ko nga, wala naman sana akong balak magtaray. pero napilitan dala ng sitwasyon, eka nga nila. there really are some people who has no proper training in customer svc, either that or talagang walang manners, hahahah! ang sama ko talaga noh? pero kahit disaster naman ang simula ng celebration namin, my aunts birthday ended with a bang and a full belly. heheheh 😀

  15. thess · February 5, 2008

    I don’t know nell..alam mo naman matarayish din ako dahil iisa lahi natin..but when it comes to food….tatakbo na ako palabas and will not even look back, eekkkk

    …sure ka ba na walang kulangot na ipinitik sa food? (ha ha ha, I know, ang maldita ko talaga..still love me? he he)

    pero darling next time mag quote ka ng Civil Act kahit according to Tom Cruise pa, bantayan mo pagluluto sa kitchen!!

    …psst, still love me again? he he

  16. sardonicnell · February 5, 2008

    ikaw talaga sis thess. parang gusto mo yatang ilabas ko ang lahat ng kinain ko nong linggo. hahahah! dami ko pa namang nakain non, sarap kasi eh. bwahaha 😀 kong meron man silang ibang additives na nilagay sa food namin, bahala na ang karma sa kanila. pero wag naman sana, huhuhu 😦 makainom nga ng antibiotic mamaya, para sigurado. hehehe. don’t you worry sis, i love you just the same. kahit na medyo bumaliktad ang sikmura ko sa sinabi mo 😉

  17. kengkay · February 6, 2008

    wahahaa, ang kulit ng mga nag comments. tapos na nga , nakain na, ano fah magagawa. that was a mouthful, in your anger to blurt out those act of civil rights number milyones years — para kung ako yun, iiyak na lang ako sa galit at isa isahin ko yung mga tables na mag table dance ako para maiyak lahat ng guests nila, hahaha. pero mukhang masarap nga ang pagkain, yum.

  18. sardonicnell · February 6, 2008

    ok lang yon, ms kengkay. they do have a point since it does happen in certain restos. but i’m positive that it didn’t happen to us since the owner assured me of that and i’m taking her word for it. in reality, i must admit that i do have a bad mouth sometimes. medyo vocal and effusive kasi ang beauty ko. at minsan nga kahit di ko away, pero knowing na may nadididhado eh nakikisali ako. hahahah, so in short taratitat na pakialamera pa ako. bwahahaha! ganito nalang, pag may nang away sayo sabihan mo ako at aawayin ko in your behalf, ok ba? hehehehe 😀

    ps: sarap talaga food, walang natira for our to-go boxes…

  19. kengkay · February 7, 2008

    uy, pramis yan ha. kapag may umaaway sa akin e sisigaw agad ako ng darna, eheste – sardonic nell, hahaha

  20. sardonicnell · February 7, 2008

    miss kengkay, just call my name and i’ll be there. hahahah, parang kanta yata yon 😉

  21. bw · February 8, 2008

    Good that you talked to the owner ! The are always lazy and irresponsible staff who don’t give a care duh 😦 The owner was so apologetic because no owner never refuses 20 paying customers – heck he’d open till god forsaken hours just to bring you guys in !

  22. sardonicnell · February 8, 2008

    hello bw! the owner was way more pleasant that those two employees. and i’m glad i was able to get my message thru to the owner, cause if those two are handling her business she’ll go bankcrupt soon, dba? and yes, there’s twenty something paying customers. any business in there right set of mind would not refuse that. have a great week end, bw. God bless 😉

Leave a Reply

