In A Crafty Mood

My friend, Cee Cee got me into this, so needless to say — I got the craft bug, too. Beading, beadwork, whatever you want to call it. That’s another hobby added to my lists to keep me occupied and sane. I’ve been in and out of Michael’s Craft Store since last week, looking for some seed beads I can work with. Now, I’m about to hit Bead Inspirations in Alameda to look for some more materials. Either that or Baubles and Beads in Berkeley. Why can’t they have a local bead shop here in my area?

Oh well, so far I’ve finished three cuffs, two ladder rings and a three layer necklace for dearest Mom (which she loves to bits and pieces). And now she’s asking me to do a set of earrings and bracelet to go with her necklace, which brings me to yet another project. Hahaha! They say the earrings  should be easy. But then this will be my first attempt working with wires and pliers, so I may end up screwing up the first couple times. Oh golly, things we do for sanity and the people we love!

Crafty Mood

14 comments

  1. tulipfleurs · January 29, 2008

    Wow . . . I’m impressed. Ang galing mo! 😉 So, what are you going to make for me? Ha! Ha!

  2. Leap of Faith! · January 29, 2008

    Nell, you are into so many things! That needle is sooo long! I hope you don’t prick your finger – ouch!

  3. sardonicnell · January 30, 2008

    grabe naman etong si lulu, di naman ah. just trying to keep myself occupied, so i won’t go insane. hahaha! i’ve done beadwork before, way back 2005 and it’s a real good hobby para lang din cross stitching. how about i make you a pair of dangling earrings. what’s you fave color? just bought a bunch of swarovski crystals earlier and some faceted czech glass beads which would be perfect for chandelier earrings. say mo 😉

  4. sardonicnell · January 30, 2008

    i am, keith. i’m into so many things, to keep myself from going crazy. hahahah! beadworks not that hard as people imagine it. it’s real easy, as long as you know your basic stitches and knots. speaking of the needle, it’s made long so the person can scoop a couple beads at one time. it saves on time, eka nga nila. haven’t prick my finger pa naman, but i did prick my tummy cause nahulog yong needle sa tyan ko kanina. hahaha :mrgreen:

  5. Pinky · January 30, 2008

    Wow, this sure looks very interesting 🙂 Hope I could also try it someday when I don’t have a little one to watch out for (kelan kaya?).

  6. sardonicnell · January 30, 2008

    it’s just a hobby, pinky. nothing much really… and somehow when i do this beading i’m reminded of our home economics class back in grade school. hahahah! i actually do this with my nephew (sometimes). i’d let him participate and do some of his own craft, less the needle syempre. and he uses that stretchable nylon threads instead, cause that’s easier to use. so far, nicho had come up with two bracelets made of semi precious stone chips. that he calls his artwork, hahahah! so i’m sure you can do this too with your kids, sige na para may kasabay ako, hehehe 😉

  7. Meeya · January 31, 2008

    for a while, nagka interest din ako diyan when i was in college, pero tinigilan ko rin kasi i wasn’t the artsy type. walang gustong magsuot ng mga ginawa ko, haha! 🙂 pero its a very calming exercise – very zen-ny, hehe – so it also helps lower the blood pressure.

    next project mo friendship bracelet natin nina weng and thess ha? hehehe!

  8. sardonicnell · January 31, 2008

    exactly, meeya! there’s this inner calm you get from doing this, dba? di naman din ako artsy, but i do it for my own sanity. hahahaha! di din kagandahan ang mga nagawa ko pero pwede na sa ukay ukay, heheheh.

    uy, that’s a good idea hah — friendship bracelet. pakibigay nga mga wrist measurements ninyo, please. that can be my next project artsy-kuno 😉

  9. bw · January 31, 2008

    Nice hobby and what a way to make use of time hehe. My 5 year old daughter loves to do this beads thing 🙂

  10. sardonicnell · January 31, 2008

    it sure is a wonderful way to relieve stress and use these creatives vibes into good work. art is wonderful way to express onself, eka nga nila 😉

  11. munchkinmommy · January 31, 2008

    gusto ko ang idea ni meeya! hahaha! 😀 gawan mo naman ako ng coinpurse. 😉 di naman yata maganda kung buong blouse na gawa sa beads…eeeeewww! hee hee hee! 😛 i’m really impressed that you are able to do so many things…read, crafts, blog, work, cook, take photos, etc. hayaan mo na lang kay abby ang ballet ha?! nyahahaha! 😀

  12. sardonicnell · January 31, 2008

    kaya wag kalimutang i-email sa akin ang mga wrist sizes hah, weng. heheheh! i haven’t done a coin purse, but that is something i am willing to make for a friend, nak naman! gusto mo blouse? dba parang pang manang naman yon, hehehe. parang geriatric ang dating, sama ko talaga noh. sensya na hah, hahaha. i’m quite surprise that i’m able to do lots of things. like i said, anything to keep me sane. hahahah! as for ballet, wala po akong balak. kaya i’ll leave that department to our dearest abby. i don’t think i would look good in a tutu. just imagining me in it is giving me the creeps, hahahah :mrgreen:

  13. tulipfleurs · January 31, 2008

    Are you serious that you’ll make me a pair of earrings? Well, if you “insist” . . . My favorite color is in the green shade . . . not lime green, kelly green but you know the “green” that’s in? More like sage or olive but a little brighter. Talagang grabe ako, eh? So demanding pa! Well, if ever I get to it, I’ll knit you a scarf. Deal ba? 😉

  14. sardonicnell · January 31, 2008

    oo naman, lulu. nag prapractice na nga ako twisting the wires and all for the earrings, hehehehe. pero naloka ako sa kelly green na yan hah, i had to google it to see it for myself, hahahah. now i know what it is! and di ka naman demanding noh, ikaw pa. let’s just say you have specific taste and every persons entitled to that. dba? thanks for thinking of me and i’ll let you know when your earrings are ready. ok ba? have a good night dear, mwaaah :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

