Officially Off

I couldn’t wait for the week end any longer. So, I decided to pack my bags last night and head for Mom’s house. I was told not to drive that late, but I went ahead and  did it. I was excited to see the ocean and be with Mom, so I can be a kid again. Kid at heart, that is! Besides, patience has never exactly been my virtue. Hahahah!

So this morning, I called the office and said I wasn’t coming. (Without them knowing that I’m hundreds of miles away.) I told them I’d prefer to work from home. And they didn’t seem to mind, cause I didn’t hear them complain . Guess they know better that I’m much more productive when I’m in repose.

How I wish everyday’s like this. Working in my pajamas, and having breakfast at the same time (today’s special in Mom’s kitchen is garlic fried rice, with eggs and pineapple sausage) . While I listen to the ocean waves and feel that cold breeze as it touches my face (sorry, I’m turning poetic here). And so right before I get carried away by my early week end recess, allow me to wish you guys a fabulous and safe week end!

Officially Off

12 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · January 25, 2008

    have a fabulous weekend, nel! buti ka nga you can just drive to see your mom. kami, we have to fly to see each other! 🙂 psst…magpapaimbita kami sa beach house ha…pag napadpad kami jan. ang kapal! hahaha! mmmmwah!

  2. Pinky · January 25, 2008

    Good for you! Sounds like a case of having your cake and eating it too – hahaha! BTW, breakfast at Mom’s sounds positively delish – nagutom tuloy ako… Enjoy your weekend! 😀

  3. sardonicnell · January 25, 2008

    thank you, weng. i’m truly enjoying myself here at mom’s house. mahabahabang drive din eto from my house, took me about two and a half hours last night. cause i was driving like pong pagong. hahahaha! i just asked mom earlier, sabi nya welcome kayo sa beach house nya. yan hah at ipinaalam pa kita, lakas mo sa akin eh. hehehe, have a wonderful week end weng. mwaaah 😀

  4. sardonicnell · January 25, 2008

    parang ganon na nga, pinky. hehehe! the garlic rice was delish and nagluto rin kami ng pritong danggit. sarap sarap! better than the pineapple sausage we got from costco. may natira pa kaming rice and some danggit, c’mmon over and i’ll also serve you guys some hot coco or salabat. ok ba? have a wonderful week ahead. big warms hugs to all you guys :mrgreen:

  5. tulipfleurs · January 25, 2008

    Hello Nell . . . I hope you have a very relaxing time down there at the beach house . . the one in Pebble Beach, right? BTW . . . I love love the interiors . . . so cozy and inviting! Anyhoo, have a safe drive back up to and call me anytime even if you’re on the road. 🙂 Take care and God bless . . .

  6. Leap of Faith! · January 25, 2008

    Nell, you are so lucky to have your mom so close to you and to have a beach house where you can just relax. Oh, how can I forget, ang swerte mo din kasi you can also work from your home! What a life!

  7. sardonicnell · January 25, 2008

    hello lulu, i sure am having one relaxing week end here at the beach house. and there is no other one hah (beach house), eto lang. wish ko lang there’s more, hehehe. tsaka di sya sa akin eto (beach house), nakikitira lang ako on week ends. tawag nga sa akin dito eh uninvited guest. say mo? pero keber kong uninvited, basta makikitulog ako. hahaha!

    thanks so much for your kind compliment. mom and dad aldo did make the place cozy by putting in simple furnitures. and they also have warm blankets everywhere for guests to stay warm. shhhh, atin lang eto hah. pero mga hand me downs yong ibnag gamit. okay pa naman eh, kaya pwede pang magamit. dba?

    have a great week end dear, and i’ll try calling you this sunday. sabi mo na okay lang hah, kaya tawag ako sayo ng mga midnight, hehehe. take care, mwaaaah D

  8. sardonicnell · January 25, 2008

    thanks keith! i’m very grateful that mom lives not too far from my house (if 2.5 hrs drive count as nearby). that and her allowing me stay on week ends. actually minsan eh kahit di ako invited eh go pa rin ako. kapal ko noh? hahahah!

    and speaking of work, i do get some perks like working from home. but then i couldn’t do that all the time, maybe a couple days okay. but my slave driving boss would prefer that i drag myself to the office. guess she misses me. kaloka sya, dba? pero ok na rin at least minsan eh i cant get away. hahahah!

    have a wonderful week keith, and please send my warmest regards to everyone. God bless 😀

  9. carlotta · January 27, 2008

    wow, what a cozy living room!

    what wouldn’t i give to spend a day on the beach again.. * sigh * 😀

  10. sardonicnell · January 27, 2008

    thanks, carlotta. if mom could have it her way, she’ll probably overdo the furnishings. but since my dad and i criticized her style and reminded her that it’s a beach house we’re decorating, she let her guards down and settle for a cozier look. now that you mentioned it, i can’t wait to retire (which is like 30 so years from now) and live in a beach house for life. hahahah, have a wonderful week 😉

  11. Meeya · January 31, 2008

    i love your mom’s home, so cozy and inviting. 🙂 itsura pa lang nare-relax na ako. 🙂 psst, sabit ako kay weng ha, makiki-beach house din kami ha? hahaha! *muah*

  12. sardonicnell · January 31, 2008

    wow, thank you meeya! it sure is relaxing in this house. pagpasok mo palang eh inaantok ka na, hahahah! and like mom said to me last week “my friends are welcome in her home…” oh say mo? kaya impake na, hahahah 😀

Leave a Reply

