At The Last Minute

“Mom, I don’t want to go to the beach. I wan’t to play in the snow!”  That’s what my nephew said to my sister as we were packing our clothes for the week end to stay at Mom’s house in Pebble Beach. My sister said to him, “Go ask your Yaya Hon, not me.” Then, I heard my nephew running down from there bedroom to mine. “Yaya, can I go play in the snow? Please…”  I didn’t know what to say, we’ve already made arrangement with Mom.  And so I called up mother and asked if she has plans for the week end. She said she’s supposed to  drive up to Napa Valley with Dad Aldo should we decide not to come. And soon as I heard her say that, I decided to cancel our trip to the beach house and opt for a trip up Lake Tahoe. If  our dear Nicholas wants snow, it’s snow he gets! 

Right away, I emptied my duffle bag and replaced my cotton shirts with some sweat shirts, thermals and fleece jackets. In about two hours, we were already driving down Highway 99 with Maxwell (the SUV).  Minutes down the road, my sister asked if it’s alright to invite her in-laws family to join us. I figured out that I made two room reservations at the Avalon Lodge and still have enough sitting space in the car, so it should be fine. We drove by there house to picked them up, had a quick breakfast and we were back driving down the free way.

Took us about three and half hours to get to Lake Tahoe. We checked in the hotel and changed into warmer clothes. We didn’t waste any time and went to the nearby snow park. The children were excited and Nicholas jumped into the snow without having any second thoughts. He even made a snow man for me. He said, “Yaya, this is you. For making me happy!”  I was lost in words, as the sculpture he made had a huge tummy (like me). I had to laugh it all out, Hahaha!

My sister and her in-laws were busy entertaining the kids. So I sneeked out and took my time taking photos, then later took the Gondola (cable care) ride up the mountain to enjoy the view. The only word to describe it is… breath taking. Feels like heaven to me, no kidding!

Then for dinner, we all had one dish in mind — Hot Soup. Off we were to the nearest  Hot Pot Restaurant and enjoyed a hearty warm meal with the family. The next day, on our way home. We decided to make one last stop at another snow park (again). Looks like my nephew could not have enough of sledding, that he even did one just by himself. He sure was very proud of himself . That on our drive back, he was on the phone with his lolo and lola bragging about his adventure. It really was one awesome trip, that I totally forgot all about my previous day (depression) jitters.

Who would have thought that it only took a jolly boy and a trip up to Lake Tahoe to get rid of all my worries? I didn’t have to takes any medication or have hours session with my shrink. What I got is way better, like some sort of natural high. Simply by having all these wonderful people around and keeping this very positive attitude in mind.

I’m starting to believe what dear, Aristotle, once said — That happiness does depend on ourselves!

My Big Boy, Nicholas

8 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · January 21, 2008

    hi nell! alam mo ba, pareho ng bihis ang ating site?! hahaha! i’m glad you had a great weekend. abby would really really love to see snow. she has been asking her dad and me to take her somewhere where there’s snow. e san naman ako magnanakaw ng snow dito sa texas?! hahaha!

    have a great week, nell! hugs and kisses to you! mmmwah!

  2. Leap of Faith! · January 22, 2008

    Nell, what a nice way to spend the weekend. Nakakatuwa naman ang nephew mo. I would think that you guys must be sick of snow since you have it every year. Apparently, playing in a snow park (than in the beach) is still more attractive to children.

    Your nephew is so lucky to have you as his yaya.

  3. sardonicnell · January 22, 2008

    hello weng, this snow must be some sort of kid thing. i knew nicholas loves the beach, but last week eh he’s been talking about snow and snow man. kaya pinagbigyan ko na rin. we had no plans driving up to tahoe, but the trip turned out pretty good. i had fun, nicho had fun, we all had fun. hahahah! besides di naman gaano kalayo, four hours drive tops.

    how far are you guys from colorado or utah? maybe you guys can drive up there, heard they have some nice winter months in those states. sige na, pagbigyan nyo na si abby. heheheh 😉

    ps: oo nga noh, parehas theme natin. feeling melodramatic ka rin ba? hehehe. have wonderful week as well, God bless. mwaah!

  4. sardonicnell · January 22, 2008

    hello keith, i must say that i’m lucky as well to have such a sweet and cuddly nephew like nicholas. heheheh! palibhasa eh he’s the only kid in my household kaya madalas eh napagbibigyan, hahahah.

    all the while, i thought nicho preferred the beach. i mean he loves water sports — boogie boarding, swimming and even surfing. medyo adventurous na bata etong si nicho. heheheh! so it must be some kind of kid thing these days. or he must have heard his friends at school talking about snow sledding and was fascinated by it. well we figured out that tahoe isn’t that far, so i gave in to my nephews request 😀

  5. bw · January 22, 2008

    Spur of the moment vacation plan is indeed exciting 🙂 We have the last minute travel folks here who are selling good vacation deals provided last minute talaga as in bukas aalis ka hehe 🙂 Well, great for your nephew to get his wish !

  6. sardonicnell · January 22, 2008

    it’s indeed spur of the moment, pero masaya! i was worried at first about the place we’re staying since last minute nga. but good thing avalon lodge opened it’s doors to us and gave us two rooms for the price of one (kasi mabait raw ako on the phone, hahaha). not bad, dba? then there’s my nephew who was ecstatic when he saw the snow cap mountains. kids and there simple joys in life!

    as for the good deals, there’s lots of them online. i remember getting one for orlando, florida. paid for it on a tuesday and flew on thursday. talk about mega super rush impake! hahahah 😀

  7. Meeya · January 23, 2008

    katuwa naman si nicho, spoiled sa yaya! 😀 pero tignan mo naman, mukhang enjoy na enjoy! 😀

    it doesn’t take a lot to make a child happy, no? 🙂 napakababaw lang ng kaligayahan! kaya naman ang sarap mag-spoil ng bata kasi pag masaya sila, pati tayo sumasaya, hehe.

    si ninna din adik sa snow 😀 buti nakapaglaro siya ng konti nung nagpunta kami ng arizona. ako pass muna sa yelo! pang-beach ang byuti ko 😀

  8. sardonicnell · January 23, 2008

    so true, meeya. mabawbaw lang kaligayan ng mga bata and i can’t help but spoil (a lil bit) nicho every once in a while. paano naman, he’s the only kid in my household. pero good boy naman yan, isang tiger look ko lang eh iiyak na yan. hahahah, sama ko talaga noh!

    ako din dear, di ko masyadong feel ang snow. mas type ko ang mag emote sa beach, heheheh. oh btw, how’s pretty ninna? your guys conversations never fails to make me laugh at loud. hahahaha 😀

Leave a Reply

