The Way I See It Now

If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude. Don’t complain!  –Maya Angelou-

Since I have so much time on my plate lately. I decided to do this activity that Dr. Seth suggested. It looked quite easy to me at first. I’m supposed to write down my goals and then things I’m doing to accomplished it. I didn’t have to twist an arm to write my personal objectives. But when it was time to draw up the actions I’m taking, I was left scratching my head. Geee, this is hard!

And while I was trying to juice up my brains for answers. I remembered what I red from one of Maya Angelou’s books about changes and complaining (see above quotation). I must admit that I’m very much guilty of yack-yack-yacking my way when I don’t like something. Maybe I need to change my strategy. So better stop complaining, buzz my ass, cast off that depressions jitters and start working on those darn goals. What would I get from pouting and waiting? I should know better, never to wait for time nor tide!

Passing Glimpse

13 comments

  1. bw · January 18, 2008

    I like that quote man. After reading it , it does make you do something ! 🙂

    At the office we have quite an elaborate goal setting and self-assessment system and one of the things I have learned is to set goals that are quantifiable or measureable. Qualitative goals dont count as they are like new years resolutions hehe 🙂 Therefore if my goal is to improve my golf game I have to prove it with scores and by how much my handicap has lowered 🙂

  2. Pinky · January 18, 2008

    Very inspirational! So loved the Japanese sounding meditation music in the background – very soothing… parang gusto ko tuloy magpa-spa! 😆 Share naman where you got the music ha?

    I truly missed reading your posts – am so happy to be back! Enjoy your weekend!

  3. sardonicnell · January 18, 2008

    absolutely, bw! it did make me get out of bed and do something rather than pouting and waiting for the sun to go down. i think it’s but fair that we set plausible expectations, work on it and then eventually move on to the next. dba?

    ps: what’s your golf handicap? just kidding, don’t know anything about golf. archery or three gun relay eh pwede pa ako, hehehe 😉

  4. sardonicnell · January 18, 2008

    thank you, pinky. glad you like it, oh dba parang music sa spa, while having a hot stone massage or body wrap. heheheh! btw, got this music from sonific and if you’d like i can lend you my widget to post on your blog. so you’ll have this spa like music as well. let me know if you need help. God bless and have a wonderful week end. welcome back again, i’ve missed you guys so much 😀

  5. Leap of Faith! · January 19, 2008

    Nell, what a nice quote. It makes you think… those who are successful are people who have the right attitude. Those who get bugged down complaining about stuff they can’t change are those who get caught in a rut. Hmmm, kasama ata ako doon sa mga laging nag co-complain.

    you’re absolutely right, keith. kaya i’m really trying my best to change my attitude and keep it positive at all times. but then, tao lang din ako at sanay magreklamo. kaya it might take a while, hehehe. sabi nga nila — baby steps. dba? so let’s keep that attitude positive and upbeat 😉

    -nell-

    ps: sorry it took me a while to comment, for some reason this went to my spam inbox. weird noh?

  6. tulipfleurs · January 19, 2008

    Hello my dear. . . that is so very true of Maya Angelou’s quote. Don’t be too hard on yourself, Nell! I know it’s easy to write down our goals but more difficult to write down the things we are doing to accomplish them. . . that’s why things happen more or less and we sometimes need a good “kick in the butt” to get us out of the “funk” we’re in. Ok . .. that’ll be another 65.00 for this 5 minute session. See . . I know how to make you laugh, huh! Seriously though . . take care of yourself . . . even though you don’t reach some of your goals, having reached just one is an accomplishment! There’s always tomorrow, di ba? 🙂

  7. Pinky · January 19, 2008

    Nellie, I’ll take you up on your offer… pa-share naman ng widget 😉 Will post it on our Multiply site naman para maiba naman… Thanks!

  8. sardonicnell · January 20, 2008

    you are absolutely right, dr lulu and would kindly just bill me for that sixty five bucks. hehehe! but don’t you worry dear, i am feeling much better. after this week end i’ve had, i really have no reason to complain and get bored. i had a blast and i definitely got the depression jitters off my system. that kick on the butt did work (with matching hair pulling), i seriously needed that for me to have the right attitude. thanks so much dear, mwaaah 😀

  9. sardonicnell · January 20, 2008

    no prob, pinky. kindly check your inbox and you should have the widget attached to an email i sent earlier. enjoy the spa music, hehehe 😉

  10. tulipfleurs · January 21, 2008

    Glad to know that our “session” is working! Ha! Ha! Seriously, I’m glad wala na yoon depression jitters mo and that you had a “blast”! Hopefully you’ll be back in the groove again, right! Take care as always . . . gotta get me some shut eyes even though I don’t have work tomorrow. Wahoo! Good night my dear . . . back at ya! 😉

  11. sardonicnell · January 21, 2008

    lucky you, lulu. no work today? me have to drag myself to the ofc today, darn it! oh well, good thing i have no classes tonight. that would be a relief, hehehe. enjoy your day 😉

  12. Meeya · January 23, 2008

    i have the same prob – hirap din akong gumawa ng action plan for my goals, hehe. siguro nga we both need a strategy change. 🙂 this time, ang magiging strategy ko: titigil sa pag-gawa ng action plan hahah!

    pero i’m supporting you on this. go ka lang zizter! you can do it 🙂

  13. sardonicnell · January 23, 2008

    hirap dba, meeya? kaya magsisimula muna ako sa mga simpleng goals. tsaka na yong medyo kumplikado! in lieu of this, i came up with this to-do-list for this week end. there’s like five items on it and mostly domestic chores, kaya kakayanin ko naman gawin. thanks for your kind support, love yah lots 😀

Leave a Reply

