Definitely Not The Love Bug…

Like I said, this is definitely not a love bug (wish it was) — it’s the real deal. What I’ve been dreading finally got to me this morning. Feeling feverish, then coughing nonstop and this annoying stuffy nose. I’ve been officially hit by maladies and needless to say, I dare not drag myself to work and spread it. So this morning I called the office and said I wasn’t coming. But work does not stop for me, whether I’m well or dying in sickness my financial reports needs to get done, like every freaking project that has a deadline. This would be one of those time when I would curse and be mad at computers and technological advancements. Because of these culprits, I am able to work off site and still be doing my days work. I hate remote desktop connection, at least for today!

From Home

PS: Now, I need my Mommy to take care of me. Hahaha!

11 comments

  1. thess · January 7, 2008

    hey!! oh please be well soon. *achuuu!*

    keep the laptop close *wink*

  2. sardonicnell · January 7, 2008

    thank you sis thess, i’m taking my meds and lots of fluids. hopefully by tomorrow eh ok na ako. and speaking of the laptop, it’s definitely right beside me. heheheh 😀

  3. tulipfleurs · January 7, 2008

    Ahhh . . . poor baby! Well, drink up with lots of orange juice and rest. Hope you’re back in the swing of things very soon. Oh . . . stay off the “lap top” too! Ha! Ha! I’d have a problem with that because I’m so fricken’ addicted to the internet. My bad! Take care ok! 😉

  4. sardonicnell · January 7, 2008

    thanks lulu. i had some freshly squeezed orange juice with carrots earlier and took some pei pa kua (i may have spelled it wrong) along with some nyquil. i hate getting sick, but i guess it’s heavens way of saying we’re not exactly bionic. hehehe! unfortunately, i couldn’t stay off the laptop. i had to work from home kasi eh, have no excuse. and my freaking boss will kill me if i don’t make it to my deadline. i have a meeting with finance head kasi this thursday to get our budget allocation this year and get our credit line increased from the bank, kaya kelangan plantsado lahat. thanks so much for your kind concern, mwaaah 😀

  5. Jen · January 7, 2008

    yuck, hope we both get better!

  6. bw · January 7, 2008

    Same here bro 😦 Dang that remote access system – you can’t escape work sometimes. The office issued Blackberry is likewise more of a liability than an asset – you can run but can’t hide.

    What I do if I really want to get a breather is change my voice mail and email out-of-office notice to say – “i am out of the office with no access to email nor voice mail” , shut down my Blackberry and have my peace 🙂

  7. sardonicnell · January 8, 2008

    JEN: you got the bug as well? it must be something in the air or the weather. huh? thanks for the well wishes, jen. i’m feeling much better today and i might drag myself to work later. get well soon 😉

    BW: seriously, there’s no escape! remember how i was i vegas last month, and i turned off all my gadgets. well guess what? the ofc were able to reach me via the hotel phone system. just so that i can send them the prelim of my reports. isn’t that insane huh? it’s like a lowjack in the car, they’re able to track me. hahahah! wish there’s like a button we can push, so we can be offline from the rest of the world, hehehe. and you know what, you just gave me an idea. i’m going to set up my voicemail like you said for week ends and holidays. but mine would say ” you have reach nell’s voice mail. would you do me a favor and leave me the f**k alone. will you? ” hahahaha :mrgreen:

  8. K · January 8, 2008

    Nell, SINUTABS!

    Stress yan, do something other than taking meds… if you know what I mean, hahaha.

  9. sardonicnell · January 8, 2008

    hello k, thanks for your kind advice. i’m actually feeling much better today. i had a male nurse took care of me yesterday, never thought ted would do a great job nursing me. hahahah :mrgreen:

  10. Meeya · January 9, 2008

    ako din asar when hubby is sick pero he still needs to bury his face in his laptop kasi dami pa ring hinihingi ng trabaho. paano ka naman gagaling nun when you can’t ever get any rest di ba? mas nakakababa pa nga ng productivity yun, if you ask me.

  11. sardonicnell · January 9, 2008

    what can i say, our bosses are a bunch of slave drivers. hehehe! naku alam mo ba meeya, i heard from a co-worker na nong nag call in sick raw ako eh nagreact raw yong bruha sa 4th floor. sarap sampalin ng hitad! akala nya siguro eh di ako magtratrabaho from home, grrrrr. but i definitely agree with you, the productivity level is totally not the same. when were sick, everything seems slow. dba 😉

Leave a Reply

