More Than Just A Charm

The day I was christened, back September 1978. My grandparents gave me a Santo Nino pendant. Growing up, I never took it off my neck. Till I accidentally lost it when I was thirteen, I didn’t realize the chain lock was broken. I tried to look for it for days, but it was nowhere to be found.

Fast forward to December 29th, 2007 when my grandmother handed me a small red velvety pouch. I’ve had my Christmas present, so this came as a total surprise. I opened the tiny bag and inside was my Santo Nino pendant. The very same one I lost sixteen years ago. I just had to ask if this was a replica, and Lola said it was the original piece. And so my next question was, how did she get it back? She said that my Nanay Susing found it in between the crevice of the wooden floor back home as she was cleaning.

It’s one priceless gift. Who would have thought that I’d get it back? That it would be dangling on my neck today, right close to my heart.

More Than Just A Charm

6 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · January 3, 2008

    nell, turn on the lights! 😀 kailan pa dumilim dito? i couldn’t tell from bloglines kasi. hee hee!

    that’s is such a wonderful christmas/new year’s present! ang galing! imagine, you got your precious pendant back after 16 years! i-padlock mo na sa leeg mo. hehehe! 😀 have a wonderful first weekend of 2008! 😀

  2. sardonicnell · January 3, 2008

    let there be light ba kamo, eto na sya! ayan hah white and bright na sya, hehehe. was so delighted that i got my pendant back. isipin mo noh 16 years, tagal non dba? and not that my charms back, sisiguraduhin ko ng secured ang lock ng chain na gamit ko, hahaha! have a great 2008 as well, mwaah 😀

  3. Jen · January 5, 2008

    that’s awesome that you got it back!

  4. sardonicnell · January 5, 2008

    hello jen, sure was happy to be reunited with this charm. all the while i thought it was gone and probably hanging on someone elses neck. yon pala eh babalik din sya sa akin, hehehe 😀

  5. Meeya · January 9, 2008

    oh wow, ang galing! i was expecting na nakita mo siya on sale sa ebay (like the commercial, haha)!

    pero i think that pendant really was meant for you kaya after all this time nagkabalikan pa rin kayo. o siya, take good care of it! make sure this time ang lock ng iyong chimento necklace ay matibay!:D

  6. sardonicnell · January 9, 2008

    that would something if ever i found an old item on ebay, hehehe! alam mo ba meeya, that when my lola handed me the pouch and saw what was in it. abay nagtatalon talon ako na parang bata. it has some deeper meaning to me kasi. ayan, umandar na naman ang pagiging madrama ko. hahaha! and speaking of the chimento necklace, sisiguraduhin ko talagang secured ang lock. himatayin talaga ako pag nawala yon, hehehe :mrgreen:

Leave a Reply

