Rekindling The Flame

I was writing checks for my household bills earlier, when I accidentally wrote the date January 1, 2007. My sister suddenly said, “Hello Kuya, it’s now 2008!” Oh yah hah, what was I thinking? My minds stuck somewhere in 2007, I guess. Now, I have to be extra careful and watch myself when I write those dates.

Honestly, it doesn’t feel like 2008 yet (at least for me). 2007 has been a wonderful year! I have so many fond memories, like meeting new friends thru blogging (you know who you guys are, and I thank you for your friendship!), a new direction in my career and the time when I met Ted. Who could forget meeting the man in their life, right? It was a year of love and countless blessings, that’s for sure.

And now, as I say hello to 2008. I tried to look at what’s missing in my life. I’m positive that I almost have it all, at least the ones that are truly important. Truthfully, I had the toughest time pin-pointing what’s deficient or nonexistent. But luckily, right before the year finally ended. It dawned on me that thing that’s currently inadequate— I have very diminutive knowledge of our God and not a lot of piety left in me. I was counting the adversities as they pass instead of my blessings.

And now that I know, maybe it’s time that I light the flame of my faith again and seek comfort in God’s loving arms…

Ylaw...

15 comments

  1. tulipfleurs · January 2, 2008

    Hello Nell! I’m going to get a bit dramatic here but it’s my faith that keeps me going through difficult times. We all go through trials and tribulations . . . sometimes it feels like I go through them more so then others but at the same time, I’m sure those “others” feel the same. We all have pot-holes in life, but that’s what makes us stronger. Remember that God will not give us a cross that we cannot handle. I’m sure you won’t regret it . . . like you said, it’s time that you light the flame of your faith again and seek comfort in God’s loving arms! 😉 All the best to you . . . . and remember to always always keep the faith!
    (P.S. . . that was the “serious” part of me! Ha! Ha!) Take care!

  2. sardonicnell · January 2, 2008

    i thanks you so much for your kind comment, lulu. it’s not dramatic at all, it’s more like the truth that i’ve been ignoring for the past couple years. i sincerely appreciate your encouragement, i will do my best to keep the faith. God bless 😉

  3. Beng · January 3, 2008

    hehehe, hindi ka nag-iisa bro. ako din, i wrote 2007 sa sinulat kong invoice (naman sa akin). sorry for being late din, i was in south tyrol with my family last week. kababalik lang namin the other day. so tell me…how was your new year?

  4. sardonicnell · January 3, 2008

    hello sister beng! welcome back. hope you had the most fabulous new year. i spent mine with the family at the beach house. we watched dvd’s, had a simple dinner and then we popped a bottle of champagne. it was fun and intimate, what’s impt naman is that we spent it with our love ones. dba? how about you, how’s your new years celebration?

  5. Beng · January 3, 2008

    sa beach kayo nagcelebrate? how dare youuu! hehehe, i’m envious lang naman, buti ka pa. we had a very simple celebration too kasi lahat kami ay nagkasit lalong-lalo na ang bunso ko. so i spent the whole new year’s eve nursing my baby boy. but still it was nice and cozy.

    by the way, thanks for adding me pala doon sa flickr. i saw your pics and oh my gush ang galing mong photographer!

  6. sardonicnell · January 3, 2008

    hello sister beng! naloka naman ako sa last comment mo, hobby lang naman po ang photography sa akin. but i thank you so much for your kind compliment and thank you rin for accepting my invitation sa flickr 😉

    speaking of karagatan… my mom has a beach house in pebble beach, and whenever we feel like releiving all our stress and had enough crap. we would all go to to our mom’s house and unwind — walk by the beach or read a book by the shore. oh ang dramatic, dba? heheheh.

    sorry to hear that you guys were not feeling well, kami din dito eh may mga sakit. i’ve lost my voice over the new year holiday. kaya di ko masigawan ang mga kapatid kong pasaway. hahaha! i saw your holiday pix in italy and it’s gorgeous hah. both the view and the people in the photos. how i wish i can visit europe again and if i do, i promise na kikitain ko kayo ni manay thess. mangarap ba raw ng gising noh? hehehe.

    have a good day manay beng, thanks for dropping by. mwaaah 😀

  7. munchkinmommy · January 3, 2008

    hi nell! 2007 was a very good year for me, dondi and abby as well! and with the newly “empowered” me, i know 2008 will be even better! let’s claim it, nell! 2008 will be better for us and our loved ones. isn’t it exciting? 😀

    i’m happy for you that you were able to pinpoint what’s “missing” in your life. my family is very religious…lalo na dondi’s (he has an uncle priest and an aunt who’s a nun!). i could just copy everything that “tulipfleurs”/lulu said because that’s how it has always been for us. we’ve always held on to God for everything! and it’s such great comfort to know that there’s a higher power watching over us. and what father would allow his child to be miserable, diba? God is always good…all the time. did i just turn preachy on you? hahaha! it’s just that in my life, i’ve experience so many personal miracles…from what we may sometimes consider as small things to the “moving-mountains” kind. 🙂 i wish you well as you find your way back to Him who I’m sure has been lovingly waiting for you. Mmmwah!

  8. sardonicnell · January 3, 2008

    thank you, weng! that’s really heartwarming. i feel fortunate to be surrounded by friends like you. sa totoo lang, di naman talaga nawala si Lord sa buhay ko. it’s just that i haven’t been fair, i didn’t give what is due to him. with all the blessings i’ve received, be it great or small, i beleive the Lord has not deserted me. i think HE deserves more than just occassional prayers of thanks. so starting this year, i’ve made a promise to light up my faith again and serve him in any way i could. thanks for your warm comment, love yah lots 😀

  9. tulipfleurs · January 4, 2008

    Oyy . . . I would have “crashed” had I known your mom has a beach house in Pebble Beach! 🙂 I love the Carmel/Monterey area. Ikaw naman . . . you should have let me know so I could have beat you down there. Ha! Ha! Have a great weekend!

  10. sardonicnell · January 4, 2008

    hello lulu, forgive me kong di ko namention. hehehe! the beach house is my mother’s future retirement home, according to her. how about going on a week end this coming spring or summer season? are you up for it? have a wonderful week end. i heard there’s a storm raw coming our way, stay warm and be safe my dear 😉

  11. tulipfleurs · January 8, 2008

    Heck yes . . . 😉 I love the beach! Why don’t we plan to meet at Ici’s first and do some window shopping/shopping along 4th Street. 😉 Hey . . . are you feeling much better?

  12. sardonicnell · January 8, 2008

    hello lulu, feeling better but not well yet. i kept on sneezing, sniffing and blowing my nose. and my voice, i sound like a guy. hahahah! o sige sige, plan natin etong pagkikita natin. shopping sounds like fun, pero palipasin na muna natin ang sakit ko hah at ayaw kitang hawaan. will email you soon to lay out the details, ok. have a great day dear, stay warm 😀

  13. Meeya · January 9, 2008

    all i can say is: its never too late 🙂 faith makes everything possible. rest assured that i will be cheering you on on this journey of yours. *hugs*

  14. tulipfleurs · January 9, 2008

    That’s fine . . . knock on wood that I haven’t caught the bug yet because something definitely is in the air. Anyhoo, hope you’re feeling a little better today . . . ciao for now!

  15. sardonicnell · January 9, 2008

    MEEYA: thanks for the encouragement, sister. that’s very much appreciated. i would need a lot of helping hand as i take on this journey. thanks again for being my cheerleader! i can just imagine you in those shorty skirts with pompoms. heheheh 😀

    LULU: hello dear, i’m much better today. but the cough’s still here. you may want to take meds soon as you experience some signs of sickness. sabi nga nila, an ounce of prevention is better than a pound of nyquil. este cure pala, hehehe 😉

  16. Pingback: Tag Debt Servicing, Second Installment : Confessions of a Domesticated Party Girl

Leave a Reply

