What Me Got For Christmas

I wasn’t really expecting anything for Christmas, I figured out that presents are mostly just for kids. Although, I did go shopping (mostly online) for my family, and most were for my nephews and nieces. You see this year, our family came up with this no gift giving policy (which didn’t happen, quite obviously). But then I couldn’t stop myself from shopping and giving my love ones a little something. I’ve always found delight in seeing people smile when they receive something unexpected. What more coming from my own family, right?

MOM: For this year, Mom gave me her present days before the holidays. She bought me two dress shoes which should go well with the suit I bought last November.

DAD ALDO:  He gave me books by Sigmund Freud —The Interpretation of Dreams, The Psychology of Love, Civilization and Its Discontent, The Ego and The Id, Three Essays on the Theory of Sexuality and On Murder, Mourning and Melancholia. I don’t remember ever mentioning these books to him. But he found out that I’ve been wanting to read Freuds work and my interest in pyschology.

DAD: My father who never shops (unless necessities), handed me an envelope with cash in it. Which should come in handy paying for my bills next month. Hahaha!

SIS & BROTHER IN LAW: Who got me a dozen pair of socks, mostly dress socks and my most favorite warm Angoras. Talk about foot fetish this year…

YOUNGER BROTHER: He or should I say his girlfriend got me a black silk pajama set, that fitted me perfectly. Wonder how they knew I was a XXL?

OLDER BROTHER: He got me a Miyako Geisha Scuplture, cause he knows how fascinated I am of oriental art. He also got me a Furi Knife Set which should always come in handy in the kitchen and a $100 gift card. Generous, hey!

NICHOLAS: My little boy got me a kitty key chain with my name and his on it. He claims he bought it with his own lunch money, isn’t that the sweetest?

KEN & CEE CEE: My friends got me these gay erotica books, which I happen to love reading. I know what you guys are thinking, that I’m a pervert. But for heavens sake, I’m almost 30 years old. So spare me the bee-ess, I’ll read what I like. Okay? Hahaha!

TEDDY: And my handsome partner in crime, he bought me some Alpaca Scarves (similar to the one I lost sometime ago) that just warmed my body, my heart and my soul. Golly, I am such a hopeless romantic huh?

I admit that I’m overwhelmed by all these gifts and blessings I’ve received over the holidays (and the whole entire year). It just proves that kindness and generosity is all around us. And to everyone who kept us in their thoughts and prayers this past Christmas and to friends near and far who took time to send us and express their holiday greetings… Thanks for all the well wishes, you guys filled my holidays with joy and gladness. You will all be in my heart forever! 

Life Socks I

SARDONIC THOUGHTS: Gifts would be nothing if it’s given without love and affection. Let’s not be misled by the value of things, but rather look into what’s truly important. How about a little less selfishness and a little more care?

4 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · January 3, 2008

    wow! that’s quite a christmas stash, nell! 😉

  2. sardonicnell · January 3, 2008

    the gifts came as total surprise. wala naman kasi akong ini-expect for xmas since we said na no-gift-giving nga. i guess you can say, we’re bad at following instructions. hahaha 😉

  3. Meeya · January 9, 2008

    you got furi knives!!!! lucky lucky lucky you!! 😀

    well, actually, lucky you that you have a wonderful family who’s so generous and who obviously loves you a lot. 🙂

  4. sardonicnell · January 9, 2008

    was so surprised talaga, meeya. i guess we all didn’t follow the agreement of no-gift giving. hehehe! and speaking of the furi knives, they’re really comfy hah when i do my preping. and i like the color as well, very bright. aint we all lucky to have such wonderful family 😀

Leave a Reply

