A Little Longer

Desolation,
Wide open space,
Between the trees and me,
Emptiness and me,
Confusion and decisions,
Feelings hard to define,
And I say to myself,
Just a little longer.

Coldness seeps
Its way in,
I am falling deeper,
Into what I fear most,
As I reach out,
There is nothing there,
As possible there was something once,
Only to be gone,
And I say to myself,
Just a little longer.

The sun drops,
The last inch of light falls,
The squirrels more likely to be huddled up,
But not me,
Something I never possessed,
And I say to myself,
Just a little longer.

Then the sun has gone,
Darkness spreads its wings over me,
I see nothing so no one sees me,
Feeling of bitterness only,
And I say to myself,
Just a little longer.

Sister dear, 
Would you stay a little longer?

5 comments

  1. thess · November 16, 2007

    Nell, take it easy….may you have a relaxing weekend.

  2. Pinky · November 16, 2007

    Very poignantly written…I honestly feel your pain, Nell. Do pray everything will be better soon. A big hug to you!

  3. sardonicnell · November 16, 2007

    thank you so much, sis thess and pinky! thanks for your kind concern, prayers, love and words of encouragement. i’m fervently praying for heavens mercy. what really breaks my heart are the two innocent kids (age seven and eight) that she may leave behind and the fact i am powerless and most probably worthless. i couldn’t do anything else on my part, except pray and extend financial assistance. whoah, this is just killing me inside.

    ow golly, i am leaving everything now in God’s hand. thanks again for the big warm hugs and well wishes. it warms my heart knowing i have the most wonderful friends 😉

  4. Leap of Faith! · November 16, 2007

    Nell, I’m sure your cousin will really appreciate all the concern you have for her and her children. She is so lucky to have you. Take care of yourself.

  5. sardonicnell · November 17, 2007

    thanks keith! my cousin and i are lucky to be surrounded by wonderful people who has joined us in prayer. really appreciate your concern, may God bless you always 🙂

Leave a Reply

