When Teddy Meets Daddy

It started out as a gag while we were having lunch. Dad and my siblings were enjoying a meal when my sister mentioned Ted’s name. I had to give her an evil look and a kick on her leg, just for her to stop giving details about my personal life. Golly! my sister can be so tactless. Why can’t she ever keep her mouth shut?

Dad: Is Ted your new special someone?

Nell: Sorry Dad, what was that again?

Dad: Do you really want me to repeat myself? Is this Ted your, whatever you call it?

Nell: Oh him, we’re still trying to get to know each other. But I admit, he’s become someone special.

Dad: I see. Bring him to dinner tonight. I’d like to meet him face to face.

Nell: Dad, are you sure? You want me to bring Ted?

Dad: What is wrong with you? Are you deaf? I said bring this guy with you tonight.

Nell: Okay, I’ll call him and see if he can make it.

Dad: Whatever, just make sure he’ll be there.

I had to excuse myself and called Ted right away. He answered and I told him all about my Dad’s invitation for dinner. He was surprised and agreed to join us. But I had to warm him about my fathers sense of humor. I don’t know exactly how to put it in words, he can be verbally brutal and he has this mischievous look on his face. Add to that, a laugh that could scare anyone. Just picture it this way, he’s like The Godfather in the movie. But seems like Ted was all relaxed and didn’t feel like listening to what I have to say about my father. My warning didn’t seem to bother him. So I hanged up and told him to just come by my house at 7 PM.

By around 7:30 PM, everybody was at Papillon Restaurant and seated on the table. Looks like everybody was present, my Dad with his wife, my sister and her husband, my brother and his flavor of the month and then there’s Ted and myself. Ted was courageous enough to approach my father and shook his hand. My Dad thanked him for gracing us with his presence and then gaved him a hug. You can just see me on the side perspiring. Whoah!

Dad: Epee & Ric, would you switch seats with your brother and his guest? I’d like for them to stay right near me.

Ric & Epee: Yes Paps!

Ow golly! Looks like Dad is going to grill us alive. He asked my sister and her husband to take to our seats. While Ted and I would be seating on his left side. Ow, heavens save us!

Right after that, Dad ordered our food and asked Ted if there was anything on the menu he likes. He nodded in compliance and said he’ll eat whatever Dad has ordered for everyone. And while waiting for our food, the investigation started.

Dad: Hey Ted, may I asked what you do for a living?

Ted: Sir, I’m a Structural Engineer.

Dad: I see, and how did the two of you met?

Nell: We met at work, Dad. He’s doing a project for our office.

Dad: And how long have you known each other?

Ted: Close to two months, Sir.

Dad: So it’s not that long. And how do you like my son, so far?

Ted: I really liked him a lot, Sir. And if your asking what my intentions are, be rest assured that I have all the purest intentions with your son.

Dad: That’s very good to know, Ted. Cause to real honest, I don’t confirm with this kind of relationship. It’s odd for me to begin with. But for my son’s happiness and future, I am trying to keep an open mind. I’m old and I’d like my children to be in good hands when I expire. I’m sure you know what I mean?

Ted: I do, Sir. And don’t you worry about Nell, I’ll take care of him.

Dad: Very good, then I guess there’s no need for my shotgun.

Ted: Excuse me. Sir?

Dad: Hahahaha, I’m just kidding! Did I scare you?

Ted: A little bit, enough for me to run out the door.

Dad: Don’t be scared of me, I don’t shoot that well. But my son can. You should be scared of him!

Ted: Really? Nell wouldn’t even touch a gun.

Dad: You didn’t tell him, Son?

Nell: About what?

Dad: You see, Nell is probably the best shooter in the family. He’s a three gun pro! He’s good with rifle, handgun and shotgun. He’s pretty good with archery as well. He’s even joined competitions before.

Nell: Dad, don’t scare him!

Ted: I’m not scared at all. Just surprised from what I’ve heard. How come you didn’t mention this to me?

Nell: It’s a thing of the past. I haven’t even laid eyes on a 45 caliber for almost a year now.

Dad: Remember this, once a pro shooter always a pro shooter!

Nell: Dad, you’re just fooling yourself. I have poor vision nowadays. I probably can’t even shoot on a 10 meter target.

Dad: How about we try it on Ted!

Nell: Dad, stop it.

Ted: You need to show me your moves sometime. Or better yet, teach me how to shoot.

Nell: Dad, look what you did to him? He might end up getting paranoid about this whole gun shooting.

Ted: No Nell, not at all. I’m just surprised! I guess I didn’t picture you as a shooting person.

Nell: Funny, Hahahah! How did you picture me in your head? Knitting or doing girly stuff?

We all laughed at our conversation. Guess I was scared for the wrong reasons. Looks like my old man has even accepted Ted in our family, and invited him to play chess and go fishing with him the next time. And as Dad said it, only him and Ted!

10 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · November 12, 2007

    inggit ako! i never got to experience having my dad interogate my, uh, admirers. 😉 kasi nga, he passed away when i was 13. but anyway, i think he might have been like your dad. 😉 o paano ba yan? pasado na kay daddy! mamamanhikan na ba teddy bear? hee hee! 😀

  2. Leap of Faith! · November 12, 2007

    What a stressful evening. Glad everything turned out okay in the end 🙂

  3. sardonicnell · November 12, 2007

    hello weng. if your dad was alive, im sure he’ll be screening your suitors like the bureau of customs. hehehe! i think fathers are real protective, takot kasi sila na masaktan ang mga anak nila. dba?

    speaking of dinner, pinagpawisan ako sobra. i was dead scared what my dad would say to TED. alam mo naman ang tatay ko eh militar, kaya ang taimtim ng dasal ko. grabe! pero magkasundo naman ang dalawa and they agreed to even play golf this week end at sila lang daw. mag bonding ba raw ang mga boys!

    mamanhikan? uso pa ba yon? pag niyaya nga ako nito magtanan eh papatanan naman ako. bwahaha! just kidding dear. we’re a long way to a union ceremony, for now eh we’ll take our time muna and enjoy each others company. although pag niyaya nya ako at sya gagastos eh papayag ako. hahahah! kapal ko ba, sobra. bwahaha :mrgreen:

  4. sardonicnell · November 12, 2007

    it was, keith. tumutulo pawis ko forehead, pati kili-kili. hahaha! pero sa awa naman ni Lord eh everything went well. looks like my dad has found an adopted son in TED. heheheh 😉

  5. Pinky · November 12, 2007

    All’s well that ends well! 🙂 With everything that’s been happening so far with Ted and your family, just can’t help but conclude that he may just be “THE ONE” for you na!

    Stay happy and healthy, Nell! 😉

  6. sardonicnell · November 13, 2007

    thank you, pinky. buti nalang talaga at pinakinggan ng langit ang panalangin ko. looks like dad and ted will get along fine from here. may lakad nga raw sila this week end, hmmmm. i’m really hoping na sya nga ang THE ONE 😉

  7. thess · November 13, 2007

    Ha ha ha! Ang kulit ng dad mo!! Pero love na love ka talaga nilang 2 ha! Lucky you, Nell 🙂 May walk silang 2 this week end, d ka kasama? *lol*

    and you’re good with guns? I’m impressed. I normally do not like people who handle guns…kaya lang love kita eh, impressed and lola mo ha ha! I almost tried it in Thailand way back..kaso takot ako sa gun talaga.

    Enjoy the rest of your day, dear…*kisses*

  8. sardonicnell · November 13, 2007

    ay, naku sister thess. makulit talaga etong tatay ko at minsan pa eh nakakatakot ang mga jokes — yong mga tipong alanganin ba. but im glad that dad accepted ted in the family. they seem to get along fine at may lakad raw sila na for the boys lang daw. wonder what that is? hmmmm.

    guns? i was better before when i had a perfect vision. i can hit a target before at 50 meters, nowadays eh 15-20 meters nalang. alam mo naman na si dad eh militar, kaya expose kami sa guns. he was the one who introduced me to gun sport and i use to compete couple years back. use to do, three gun relay and skeet shooting. i also did a little bit of archery too before kaya naglabasan ang mga ugat ko sa braso. grrrr! but dont you worry dear, i’ve never pointed (and never will) a gun on people and animals. not my nature, talagang pang competition lang ako. hehehe! naku sis, you should try it sometime. takot eh sa una lang yan. you’ll get over it once you’ve tried a couple rounds. hahahaha!

    love yah too and have a wonderful day 😀

  9. Meeya · November 14, 2007

    natawa ako sa shotgun remark ng tatay mo. ang lupet, hahaha! pero ayan, good sport naman si ted, tapos pasado naman sa daddy kaya full speed ahead na 😀

  10. sardonicnell · November 15, 2007

    hi meeya. dad sure knows how to scare a guy, but looks like ted was ready and wasn’t moved at all. guess he had dad’s seal of approval, sana nga eh tuloy tuloy na eto 😉

Leave a Reply

