The Early Birds

My Dad came in early this morning, as in super early. The rooster have yet to cock-a-doodle-do and he’s already at my doorstep. I seriously thought he was a thief, at freaking 4 AM? Are you kidding me? Dad was all ready, alive and kicking at midmorning. Hail Caesar to my old man! Like he would always preach when we were kids, the early bird catches the worm. But what the heck, I don’t eat worms and nor am I born an early bird. And certainly not on week ends!

But since my old man was up, I decided to cut my beauty rest short to get ready and fixed him a cup of coffee. My Dad and I are on a mission today, trying to look for garlic greens (like spring onion) which happen to be both our favorite. Sauteed in onion, pork, tofu and oyster sauce — es absolutamente delicioso! So here we are at 5 AM at the local farmers market, trying to look for garlic greens; which seems like a needle in a hay stack. But we eventually found some, fresh from the Salinas farmlands. There was only one vendor selling it and we bought the whole box. Looks like Dad was right, the early birds sure catches the worm!

I can’t wait till lunch time. I am so ready for my garlic greens…

4 comments

  1. Leap of Faith! · November 11, 2007

    Garlic greens? Sounds yummy. Share mo naman how they look like when it’s cooked.

  2. sardonicnell · November 11, 2007

    it is delish, keith. it looks similar to dahon ng sibuyas when it’s cooked. sayang at di ko nakunan ng pix kanina, sa gutom at excitement eh nakalimutan ko na. hahaha :mrgreen:

  3. bw · November 12, 2007

    I miss these roosters – we don’t have them here !
    That early morning trip to the farmers market- the smell of food at the food stalls waiting for breakfast- aahh so heavenly 🙂

  4. sardonicnell · November 12, 2007

    hello bw! i miss having chickens and all sorts of farm animals. we grew up kasi with that around us back at our farm in silang, cavite. miss those days sobra!

    visiting farmers market is one of the things i like doing on week ends, except the part when i have to get up early to be able to pick the freshest fruits and veggies. hahahah! one specific farmers market i like is the one is san francisco at the ferry plaza and i even go as far as napa valley — wine and food! what’s not to love about it, dba?

Leave a Reply

