Out Of The Rain

Exploring the cave’s darkness,
I’ve spent my life
Scraping my skin on the cold
Stone walls.
Seeking the cleansing light
Which would free me
From the endless night
That is this tunnel.
This cold, damp tunnel
I’ve wandered through
For an eternity
But wait.
There might be a light
An opening to the sun
To the sweet, fresh air
Of enlightenment and joy.
My heart pounds
As if it might burst
From my chest.
As I run toward the light.
Brighter, brighter
Closer to the exit.
I can smell the mountain air
And feel the dry desert in my lungs.
Now it’s near.
Peace floods my soul
As I walk into the scents
Of the earth’s open air and sky.
I squint at the brightness
Of the sun’s cleansing light.
Warmth floods me
Like a blanket on a winter night.
When my eyes adjust
To the blindness
Caused by so many
Years in the darkness
I scan the horizon
And see a hawk soaring
Above the peak of a nearby hill.
What a wondrous sight.
I hear the rustling
Of the sagebrush
Dancing in the desert wind.
What a glorious noise.
And I look down
At the entrance to the cave
This tunnel where I’ve spent eternity
Seeking these sights and sounds
Where I’ve been trapped
In a seemingly endless journey
To this joy and happiness
Which now seems so near.
And there, at my feet
A white rosebud
Glistening with the morning dew
And ready to open to full splendor
To experience the things
I’m feeling and draw warmth
From the morning sun.
And it makes me smile
Like I’ve never smiled.

It is my undying wish  that I never succumb to this darkness again. It is a horrible feeling, like a boat sinking deeper into the ocean. You feel helpless and lost! I am thankful that my family, my friends and my Teddy Bear were all around me at a time when I think the world is sullen and impaired.

With all the love and compassion I’ve received, be it near or distant. I am priveledged to be alive and surrounded by all these adoring people. You guys made it all easy for me to come right out of the rain…

11 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · November 6, 2007

    yey! what a very appropriate photo. ang ganda ng rainbow…kakantahan kita…pero short lang…

    “Why are there so many songs about rainbows
    and what’s on the other side?
    Rainbows are visions, but only illusions,
    and rainbows have nothing to hide.
    So we’ve been told and some choose to believe it.
    I know they’re wrong, wait and see.
    Someday we’ll find it, the rainbow connection.
    The lovers, the dreamers and me.”

    Ok ba? Puwede na ba kitang i-welcome to earth? Hee hee! Smile na. You are very much loved…that I can tell you for sure! 😉

  2. sardonicnell · November 6, 2007

    bravura weng! thanks for that wonderful song, so appropriate like the photo. thanks also for the warm welcome. hayaan mo at malapitlapit na ako mag landing sa earth. hahaha!

    touch sobra ang bakla for the encouragement, that surely put a smile on my grumpy face :mrgreen:

  3. Jen · November 6, 2007

    yayyyy, you’re back! i miss your landiciousness. smile 🙂

  4. sardonicnell · November 6, 2007

    hello jen, thanks for your kind comment. konting sandali nalang at lilipad na ulit si mariposa at magkwekwento ng mga kalandian. hahaha :mrgreen:

  5. sardonicnell · November 6, 2007

    hello jen, thanks for your kind comment. konting sandali nalang at lilipad na ulit si mariposa at magkwekwento ng mga kalandian. hahaha :mrgreen:

  6. Apols · November 7, 2007

    hey i think your job exacerbates the depression din no? ako kasi if i have job problems talgang biggest contributor eh.

  7. Jen · November 7, 2007

    btw, check this out: http://celluliticbliss.com/?p=394

    happy wednesday nell!

  8. sardonicnell · November 7, 2007

    hi apols, in a way our jobs can indeed trigger this depression. specially, if we hated our jobs. hahahah! but with this most recent episode, i couldn’t really think of any event that may have jump started this depression. chemical imbalance na kasi etong sa akin eh.

    but im feeling much better now, i think i’m ready for my next hit 😉

  9. sardonicnell · November 7, 2007

    jen, thank you very much for the award. it is truly an honor and i sincerely appreciate your kind gesture.

    and with the award you gave me, i’ll definitely have a happy wednesday. God bless 😀

  10. Meeya · November 7, 2007

    wow, you always have the best pictures to accompany your posts. ayan, nakantahan ka na ni weng, dapat ok ka na hehe 🙂

    here’s to less rain but more rainbows? 🙂

  11. sardonicnell · November 7, 2007

    thank you, meeya. i’m also hoping and praying for more rainbows than storms. siguro nga tama rin ang sabi ng MOM ko, na mas madali raw malampasan ang problema kong may karamay sa buhay. what can i say, MOM is als melodramatic!

    wengs rendition of RAINBOW CONNECTION definitely made me smile. thank heavens for wonderful friends like you guys 😉

Leave a Reply

