Read, Write, Then Click

Dad Aldo handed me this book entitled, From My Mouth To Your Ear, while I was at the beach house two week ends ago. He said he knows how much I love poetry , so he bought it for me to read and add to my collection. That was very sweet of him to remember, I never really viewed him as a sensuous person. But I guess, he is! He’s very quiet, yet perceptive and altruistic.

And as Dad was handing it to me, he said  “Just by reading the excerpt, most certainly reminded me of you.”  Does this mean I’m an emotional junkie? Maybe I am, but that’s beside the point. His kind regard and thoughfulness means a lot. And I am humbled by his kindness.

As for the book, I happen to finish it in one sitting and only have good words to say. I love the sentimentalism and the unneeded indirection or symbolism. The authors poetry speaks, as if I was filling her shoes, having this candid conversation with a stranger. Her poems started out dispirited, but as you flip each page; you’ll discover this inner comfort. Her poetry is emotionally poignant!

Don’t you just love the FALL season! And so I brought out my camera, and took this images yesterday as I was walking around my house. Who’d have though such beauty exist in my backyard. I guess, all we have to do is to simply keep our eyes open…

‘Tis pleasant on a fine spring morn
To see the buds expand,.
‘Tis pleasant in the summer time
To see the fruitful land;
‘Tis pleasant on a winter’s night
To sit around the blaze,
But what are joys like these, my boys,
To merry autumn days!

We hail the merry Autumn days,
When leaves are turning red;
Because they’re far more beautiful
Than anyone has said,
We hail the merry harvest time,
The gayest of the year;
The time of rich and bounteous crops,
Rejoicing and good cheer.

-Charles Dickens-

PS: For more images, please feel free to visit my Flickr account. Thank you!

8 comments

  1. Leap of Faith! · October 23, 2007

    Nell, Daddy Aldo’s gesture is very touching. You’re very fortunate to have such a thoughtful and caring father.

    Also, how nice it is of you to see the beauty in simple things that surround us. Who knew that a small flower or dry leaf could look so pretty once you look at them from a different angle. Thank you for sharing these pictures to us.

  2. sardonicnell · October 23, 2007

    thank you, keith! daddy aldo’s kuind gesture was indeed heartwarming. i didn’t expect for that to happen as he’s a very silent man. who would have thought that he knows my romance with poetry. he’s a real kind man and i love the fact that he’s part of my life. though he’s not my biological father, i love him just as much!

    what you said was true, keith. we just have to look at stuff from a different angle and there will find beauty, hidden somewhere. glad you like the photos! God bless 😉

  3. rollercoastermom · October 23, 2007

    awww, your Daddy Aldo is so sweet. Just goes to show that your relationship with him is not superficial and not all polite pleasantries. he really took time to get to know who you are 🙂

    as for the pictures, they’re beautiful! i just love fall colors! my favorite is the picture of the red, orange and yellow flowers 🙂

  4. cheh · October 23, 2007

    Awesome shots nell! You’re really a pro! Really loved them.

    Fall and Spring are my two favorite seasons.Love the cozy feeling of these two seasons,it’s not very hot,not very cold. Just perfect! What I love most about ’em is the nature and it’s display of beautiful colors of leaves & flowers.

    have a nice week to you! Ingat lagi.

  5. sardonicnell · October 23, 2007

    thank you, kris! i was really surprised when daddy aldo handed me that poetry book. i wasn’t aware that he knows stuff about me, kasi nga tahimik lang sya and bihirang maki-join sa mga conversations namin. but i do admire him and he knows that, i think he’s a real good man and the perfect match for my mom. given that my mom is so machicka and him being quiet, hehehe 😀

    glad you like the photos. the red yellow flowers are what they call fire lantanas. akala ko nga nong una eh damo damo lang yan sa aming bakuran, hahaha. but they’re real pretty when they’re in bloom. thanks for your kind comment hah. mwaaah!

  6. sardonicnell · October 23, 2007

    thanks for your kind compliment, cheh! touch ako sobra, pero di po naman ako pro sister — TH lang (trying hard), hahaha! and you’re right fall and spring are the most colorful seasons of the year. but i prefer autumn cause of the temperature and the dramatic effect, hahahah.

    you have a wonderful week as well and God bless. hope you’re feeling better, mwaaah :mrgreen:

  7. bw · October 24, 2007

    Autumn is the time of the year where you sort of wind down, become more reflective of life as you brace for the winter when things tend to really slow down agonizingly for months !

    Nice pics bro 🙂

  8. sardonicnell · October 24, 2007

    thank you, bw! glad you like the photos i took. i so love autumn, cause it does have this reflective mood. add to that the colors that simply takes someone’s breath away…

Leave a Reply

