With Apologies Etc

Reading my last entry, the one I called I Am Not My Bag. I realized that I was a bit judgemental and quick to jump into conclusion about people I don’t even know. So, I decided to delete that entry as I don’t think it was appropriate of me to comment on something that’s not even my business.

So for those people who has read that entry and strangers I may have offended, please accept my sincerest apologies. It was uncalled for and my bluntness was forged in the wrong direction. I should have known better to keep my observations to myself and not write something discounting of others. Again, I am so sorry for my misstatement!

But then allow me to share my delight over the week end. About what? Ridiculous as this may sound. What I’m raving about was the meal I had Saturday noon. Yummy Chicken Tortilla Soup!

I take great comfort,

In a bowl of chicken soup,

Crisp buttered rye bread,

With a cup of caramel apple cider,

That’s so soothingly good!

14 comments

  1. joy · October 15, 2007

    Hmmm.. curious. I wonder what the post said… 🙂

    joy
    Your Love Coach

  2. sardonicnell · October 15, 2007

    hello ms joy! thanks for visiting my blog. that entry i deleted was about a group of young ladies talking about their high end purses. i think i got carried way and made some comment that i think was inappropriate; so i deleted it. when i was writing it, i didn’t realize how harsh i was in my judgement. but upon reading it (over & over), i realized that i shouldn’t have made such comments as people are entitled to their own likes and dislikes; be it material or not. it shouldn’t be my biz!

    oh well, i’m just glad i still have the eye for pin-pointing my mishaps and able take responsibility for my errors. i’m such an opiniated moron, but i think there are some things that is better left unsaid. thanks again for the visit and i hope you don’t mind that i add your site to my blogroll. pls forgive my lengthy comment 🙂

  3. munchkinmommy · October 15, 2007

    nabasa ko yun! pero hindi ako nagcomment…kaya bumalik ako. wala na pala! nyahahaha!

    well, i do agree with what you said in that post though, that we should not be defined by material things. saka OA naman talaga yung isang girl na made in Europe lang na bags ang gusto. hmp! some people do like the finer things in life and there’s nothing wrong with that. yung iba, they can get away with owning the most expensive stuff and act as if wala lang, diba. yung iba naman kasi, hindi pa kontento sa pag-display, may pretentious commentaries pang kasama minsan. oh well! napahaba na!

    sarap naman nung soup! penge! 😀

  4. sardonicnell · October 16, 2007

    hello weng! sorry hah at di na kita napagbigyan para mag comment. narealize ko kasi na medyo rough yong pagkakasabi ko. the other lady was totally over na talaga, the ones that said made in europe lang ang carry nya. nothing wrong naman with carrying high end purses, basta ba afford. anyhow, napag isip isip ko na we’re all entitled to what we want. if these ladies lives revolves around their bags, so be it!

    thanks for the kind words, weng. naku pasensya ka na at nasaid ang kaldero. naubos namin ang soup nong sabado. super dali lutuin and i didn’t use any canned tomatoe; saffron lang eh sarap na! sa totoo lang, i just used what’s available in my mom’s fridge and pantry. i’ll share the recipe, promise 😉

    Chicken Tortilla Soup

    (Good for 3-4 people)

    2 medium size onions (yellow or white variety)
    5 cloves of garlic
    2 celery stalks
    ½ of a bell pepper
    2 shredded carrots
    1 pound of ground chicken or shredded chicken meat
    1 can of corn
    2 tablespoon of chives or spring onions
    1 teaspoon of saffron threads
    1 carton of Chicken Stock (32 oz )
    1-2 chicken bouillon
    Handful of tortilla chips, unsalted preferred
    Salt, pepper to taste

    Preparing the saffron: Add five teaspoons of water to one teaspoon of saffron threads. Soak and then mesh using the back of the spoon. Set aside for later use.

    Sautee garlic and onions. When the onions are soft, add the sliced celery, carrots and bell pepper. Then add the chicken.

    When chickens almost done, add the chicken stock and corn.

    Let it boil and then add the saffron, chicken bouillon and tortilla chips. Boil for another five minutes.

    Add salt, pepper to taste. Then last is the spring onion or chives.

  5. abby · October 16, 2007

    uy gusto ko yang soup, parang napaka-hearty.

  6. apols · October 16, 2007

    yikes i havent read about it, im sure ill like it 😛

  7. sardonicnell · October 16, 2007

    hi abby! the soup is super easy to make and you can even add some other veggies you like. and you’re right, it’s hearty. tamang tama sa ganitong taglamig. yong ginawa ko ngang soup eh gone in one sitting. was surprised that mom and dad liked it. must be the cold weather these days!

  8. sardonicnell · October 16, 2007

    hi apols! i’m not proud of that entry, kasi feeling ko eh medyo cruel and hostile ang dating. i didn’t realize that i can be a smuck sometimes when i write! hahahaha 🙂

  9. rollercoastermom · October 16, 2007

    hehe! i read it din but like weng, hindi ako nakapagcomment and when i went back, wala na. teehee! 😛 thanks for the tortilla soup recipe! ang yummy yummy basahin at tingnan ng pic! maybe next week i will add it to our meal 🙂

  10. sardonicnell · October 16, 2007

    hi kris! minabuti ko na ring i-delete para di ako maka-hurt ng ibang tao. besides, i wasn’t in touch with my inner self when i wrote it (morelike, the b**chy part of me). hahahah!

    your welcome po for the recipe. it’s good and easy. let me know what you think pag nagluto ka hah. God bless!

  11. Meeya · October 17, 2007

    nell, sorry sobrang busy ako to bloghop during the past week, i wish i could have read that post, huhu! (inner chismosa, haha!) i’m a bag girl myself and you know i wrote about a pretentious bag person some time ago too (during my pms moments haha!) so i think i can relate. anyway, i am loving that soup. subukan ko one of these days. 😀

  12. sardonicnell · October 17, 2007

    hi meeya! minabuti ko ng burahin baka kasi may matapakan akong tao eh. tsaka medyo accusatory yata yong mga statements ko don eh. i guess medyo nainis lang ako don sa mga girlash. just imagine this, listening to alicia silverstone in the movie clueless. pero etong mga eto instead of sounding naive eh medyo typhoon ang dating! bwahahaha, sama-sama ko talaga ever 😉

    ps: pagbigyan at pagpasensyahan nyo nalang po ako, please!

  13. Beng · October 19, 2007

    Hi there! Your chicken soup looked so yummy. Nakikopya na rin ako ng recipe.
    Maraming Salamat!

  14. sardonicnell · October 19, 2007

    thanks beng! pls feel free to copy the recipe. let me know how you like it hah. Godspeed 😉

Leave a Reply

