Must Be The Weather

I knew there was something wrong! The fact that mom has been sleeping over my house these past couple days was just odd. I love every bit of attention I’m getting from her, add to that some much needed TLC. But looks like there’s some sort of LQ between her and Daddy Aldo.

You see, I got a phone call from him last night asking how mom was doing. In my head I said, why are you calling me then, why not call Mom? There was also something sundry about his voice that made me even more suspicious. And being the curious bee that I am, I just had to ask. As I expected, Daddy Aldo tried to deny it at first. But eventually, he gave in and told me part of their discourse. True to my gut feeling, it looks like they had an argument over the week end.

My mom’s so good at hiding things, moreso if it’s matters of the heart. And I didn’t want to be intrusive of her personal life either. I would like for her to start, but that is close to never. So I went ahead with plan B, try to have a casual conversation and see if she opens up.

Nell : The Nilaga smells good, Mom!

Mom: Only a couple minutes, Hon and this will be ready.

Nell: Hey Mom! Thanks so much for coming over and taking care of me. That really means a lot, you’ve been a great help. You and Epee (my sister). Really, Thank you! (then gave her a hug and a kiss on the cheek)

Mom: Hay Anak, stop being melodramatic! You’re sick and someone need to take care of you. Mag boyfriend ka na nga ulit, para may mag alaga sayo.

Nell: Mom! Stop that. I’m not getting another dysfuntional boyfriend. At this time, I’m a bit exhausted emotionally. I need a break!

Mom: Bahala ka! Ikaw naman ang nakakaalam ng makakabuti sayo. You know I’m not in favor of your relationships. But then again, I’d like you be to happy. I want someone to take care of you for a change. Besides, you and I are not getting any younger. Alam mo yan!

Nell: Ayayay! I don’t like this kind of conversation. Erase, erase, please. Pero maiba nga ako, Mom. Don’t you have work or something?

Mom: Not this week. Your Daddy Aldo and I were thinking of going to Palm Springs sana. But we decided to cancel it.

Nell: Bakit naman? Don’t tell me you cancelled it because of me? I’d feel guilty talaga!

Mom: No, No, No. It’s not you dear, your Daddy Aldo and I had an argument. You need not stress about it. Really, it’s no biggy!

Nell: Sorry to hear that Mom! I just hope it wasn’t because of your stay here that caused all this trouble.

Mom: Naah, I said don’t worry about it. I like being here, at least this gives me a chance to be motherly. And it was a petty conflict lang naman, we should be fine when I get back home.

Nell: Okay, if you say so. But what did you guys argue about? I don’t mean to nosy, hah. I just thought that maybe I could help if you tell me.

Mom: It was just about this piece of property in Santa Rosa he wanted to get. I told him, I don’t want another house to tend. Cause you know how we’re old na. Why bother buying another piece of real estate? I don’t think we need it. But I guess your Daddy Aldo really wanted that house, so he bought it behind my back. So yon, we ended arguing about it.

Nell: Yikes! Sorry to hear that Mom. Pero there’s no harm done naman yata eh; with him buying this house in Santa Rosa. Why don’t you just let him be. It’s his money naman yata eh? Unless, he’s getting from your pocket. Is he?

Mom: Oh no, you know I wouldn’t let that happen. It’s his money, but I really didn’t want another house at ako lang naman ang mapapagod sa pag aayos at paglilinis. That’s all!

Nell: Ok, I see. Naku Mom, just let him do his own thing. If that brings him happiness, I think you should be supportive. It’s totally harmless naman, dba? Tsaka buti na yong house rather than another woman. Don’t you think? Besides, you guys need to compromise. Isn’t that what partnership is all about?

Mom: Tama bang pangaralan mo ang nanay mo? Be quiet na nga nalang. I’ll handle it!

We ended teasing each other after and then Mom called Daddy Aldo to settle their differences.  It ended well eventually, which made me feel more at ease. But Mom will be staying over till Friday, to make sure I’m doing fine. Then she wanted me to come with her and spend the week end at her house.

Ow golly! I thought only young lovers have LQ’s. Who would have thought that golden-agers goes thru the same thing. Hahaha!

PS: I just hope Mom  doesn’t read this, she’ll kill me and chopped me to pieces calling her a golden-ager!

14 comments

  1. munchkinmommy · October 12, 2007

    nell, i find it funny that you’re more worried that your mom will kill you for referring to her as a golden-ager kesa the fact that you shared with all your avid readers the cause of her LQ with her better half. hahaha! i hope they kiss and make up soon! hee hee hee! 😉

  2. sardonicnell · October 12, 2007

    hi weng! knowing my mom, she’ll most definitely kill me for addressing her as a golden-ager rather than my broadcast of her personal life. hahahah! they did patch up their differences, mom’s going home tomorrow. i’m thinking of spending the week end at her house, but i’m torn if i should catch up on work or go on another week end holiday 😉

  3. Leap of Faith! · October 12, 2007

    Nell, life is so weird. When we were younger we used to go to our parents for advice. Now it’s the reverse (although, in your case, na-pilit mo lang yung mom mo to open up). I’m glad that your parents are okay now… no more tampuhan.

  4. sardonicnell · October 12, 2007

    i agree with you keith, life can get WEIRD and even WEIRDER! (is there such a word?) mom and dad aldo have reconciled, just one of those occasional difference of opinions. as a matter of fact, the lovebirds are planning dinner for two tomorrow. which means, no FREE meals for me!

  5. Pinky · October 12, 2007

    I was so aliw that you had to start your conversation with nilaga – galing talaga mag-segue! Hahaha! Anyway, glad to hear that all’s well that ends well 🙂 Do hope you get better soon!

  6. freshmess · October 12, 2007

    wow, your mom is very cool, urging you to get a new boyfriend. not all moms are like that. 🙂 hope they’ll take that vacation, soon, though.

  7. sardonicnell · October 12, 2007

    thanks pinky, galing ko bang magsingit? hahaha, i’m feeling much better po. will be back to work this monday siguro. mom and daddy aldo have settled their tampuhan, mamya nga eh may date raw sila, hahaha!

  8. sardonicnell · October 12, 2007

    hello mark! mom is indeed cool. i know she’s not in favor of my preference in partners or boyfriends, but she’s supportive naman. i guess it worries her that im not with someone or there’s no one to take care of me when she’s not around. she’s actually good friends with my ex’es, weird noh? hahaha!

  9. Jen · October 12, 2007

    “golden-agers” — ahahah, i’ll try that on the folks sometime. good point on the better than a house than another woman *high five*.

    happy weekend!

  10. sardonicnell · October 13, 2007

    hi jen! at least maganda-ganda naman ang term na golden agers kesa gurangits or orang-gurang, dba? pati ako eh natatawa sa sarili ko eh, hahaha. pero totoo naman dba? buti na yong house kesa another woman or mistress 😉 but i think mom has a much better understanding of my daddy aldo, bati na nga sila eh, hahaha!

  11. rollercoastermom · October 16, 2007

    glad to hear your mom and dad patched things up! i agree na ang galing ng singit tactics mo starting with the nilaga. you’re very lucky to have such a wonderful relationship with them. your closeness with your mom is something to be thankful for talaga. ako din my parents are like my siblings because of our small age gap. my mom and i used to trade clothes pa. hehe! 😛

  12. sardonicnell · October 16, 2007

    galing ko sa segway noh, kris? dinaan sa nilagang baka, bwahahaha! i’m close to everyone in my family, except for my younger brother; who seems to have his own separate solar system (or galaxy). but blood is blood and he knows naman that i love him unconditionally.

    my mom and i naman, we have this special bond eh. palibhasa eh sabay namin hinarap ang mga problema namin sa buhay. we share the family problems and burdens, so were tightly glued to each other. hahahah! pero unlike you and your mom, i can’t trade clothes with my mother. otherwise, i’d look like a golden aged drag queen. bwahahaha!

    thanks again for the kind comment, God bless!

  13. Meeya · October 17, 2007

    omg papatayin din ako ng nanay ko pag tinawag ko siyang gurangis hahaha! ang cute naman ng iyong parents, they spice up their relationship with these little LQs hehe.

    well, i wish one day ang pagbili ng real estate din ang pagtalunan namin ng asawa ko, my gosh, haha!

  14. sardonicnell · October 17, 2007

    hi meeya! buti nalang at mom don’t surf online that much. otherwise, if she sees this post — she’ll choke me to death for sure!

    i think LQ’s are quite normal sa mag-asawa, sabi nga nila pampasarap raw yan sa luto ng buhay! bwahahah 🙂

Leave a Reply

