Enchanting Chicago

The next morning, I woke up at about 10 AM to have brunch with my good friend Kay. I wasn’t really hungry, so I requested that we eat something light. You see the night before, I stuffed myself with some deep dish pizza. And I haven’t fully recovered from over gorging. So my friend suggested that we have some sandwiches and a smoothies, and we went to Frullati’s Cafe on Clark Street. I ordered myself a Mango Pineapple Smoothie and split a Veggie Sandwich with Kay. After a good two hours of chit-chatting, catching up on stories, we said our goodbyes and I decided to take a stroll at the Millenium Park.

There you’ll find these massive bean and egg shaped pieces of artwork (for lack of a better description) that would surely attract anyone, both tourist and locals alike. Then there’s the state of the art open stage where people can just lie down on the grass while watching a concert. I heard Yo-yo Ma once performed there and attracted a huge crowd of people. There’s also Grant Park that resembles old Luneta in Manila (during the good days). And there I saw Buckingham Fountain in all it’s glory.

I then decided to check out The Art Institute of Chicago where I saw some very nice paintings similar to that of the Legion of Honor Museum back in San Francisco. I was also fascinated with their photography exhibit, my eyes were wide open the whole time. Photographs of  Ansel Adams, Harold Allen, Jean Atget, Jonathan Bayer and a whole lot more. Images that I can only dream of taking. After a good four hours in the museum, my cellphone rang. It was my older brother reminding me of our dinner date the next day. By that time I realize it was getting late, I got out of the arts building and it was already dark and my legs aching. So I hailed a cab and went back to my hotel room. Ordered myself some steak and red wine, then knock myself to sleep. This is how I’ve always pictured my holiday, free to do whatever and whenever I want! 

14 comments

  1. thess · September 30, 2007

    Nell, glad to know you’re enjoying your holiday !!!
    I love these images, thanks for sharing them. I particularly like this last painting, who was the artist? And that big bean/egg, wonderful!

    Greetings from you know where! (^-^)

  2. munchkinmommy · September 30, 2007

    hi nell! that’s really how vacations should be. it’s so nice to be able to explore the city at your own pace. my mom was in chicago last year and she had photos of that humongous bean-shaped metallic thing as well. hee hee! 😀

  3. sardonicnell · September 30, 2007

    hello sister thess! i had a fab time, but im back na in sfo. the painting? i think it’s a fecchereli or rosetti artwork. it’s an italian painter eh, that’s all i can recall. hehehe! the big bean and egg, i think that’s like a landmark in chicago. there always lots of people there, taking pix and fascinated by it. thanks for the kind words, sis. Good bless, mwaaah =)

  4. sardonicnell · September 30, 2007

    hi weng! my three day holiday was both fun and relaxing. i did took my time and have lots of sleep, hehehe. that big bean has turned into a landmark in chicago. both locals and tourist are attracted to it.

    sigh, im back na in sfo and work na tomorrow. i guess that means back to regular programming, hehehe =)

  5. Apols · September 30, 2007

    Wow what a fantastic place chicago is, thanks for the pics i can tour chicago from here LOLS.

  6. sardonicnell · September 30, 2007

    it was incredible, apols! chicago is explicitly beautiful, a must destination. glad you like the pix =)

  7. rollercoastermom · October 1, 2007

    the pictures are gorgeous 🙂 it’s great to know you had a fun relaxing vacation. now it’s back to work! yuck no? teehee! last time i was in chicago was like ten million years ago. i was too young pa to explore the city myself so i just gladly tagged along with my family.

  8. sardonicnell · October 1, 2007

    hello kris! it was relaxing and i enjoyed every minute of it. but all things have to come to an end, back to work na ako tomorrow. bummer! you should come visit chicago again, lots of things have changed over the years =)

  9. abby · October 1, 2007

    nice photos. i love chicago, mas cheaper pang konti ang real estate.

    welcome to the jungle na uli, arnelli!

  10. sardonicnell · October 1, 2007

    thanks, abby! sobrang bitin ang chicago trip ko, but had to be back for work. i was amaze when i found out the house prices in illinois, so far from what i’m paying for a piece of california. hahahah! sigh, back to regular programming na ang beauty ko. but i guess that’s alright, cause i get to see ted =)

  11. bw · October 1, 2007

    Great art stuff and amazing food – what more can you ask ? And the weather was excellent too I bet 🙂

  12. sardonicnell · October 1, 2007

    thanks again, bw! i was in the art institute for a little while. simply amazed by the paintings, sculpture and photographs. the food was also fantastic. and now that im back here in sfo, i’m craving for some deep dish pizza =)

  13. Meeya · October 2, 2007

    nell, the last time i went to the art institute, dalaga pa ako, haha! i loved my experience. now i can’t risk taking ninna in a museum pa, alam mo naman, if you break it its considered sold. haha! siguro pag medyo malaki na siya at pag-naaappreciate na niya. 🙂

    and yes, we, too, have pictures with that giant bean hehe (http://littlefeetaweigh.blogspot.com/2005/11/chicago-again.html). hindi yata pwedeng hindi. 😀

  14. sardonicnell · October 2, 2007

    hello meeya! i think they did some updates sa art institute and dumami na rin ang exhibits nila. they even have lots of photographs, spend a lot of time walking thru one photo to another. when ninna’s a bit older, im sure she’ll like it there. or how about fields museum? she’ll probably love that place.

    ow the giant bean? landmark na talaga yata sya. and the millenium park, ang ganda. napaka futuristic ng design. napaghahalatang low tech ang beauty ko. hehehe!

Leave a Reply

