A Walk In The Windy City

My day started with a breath taking sunrise as the plane was landing on Chicago. The Midway airport wasn’t too busy and there’s not too many people, which made walking out quick and easy. Soon as I got out of the gate, the hotel driver was right outside with his van. However, it was too early to checked myself in. So I decided to dropped off my stuff at the lobby and bagged breakfast on busy Michigan Avenue.

It was an animated Thursday morning in the city, people are walking fleet footed in both directions. I think I’m the only one taking my time, looking up and down like a tourist lost in the metropolis. I’ve been to Chicago quite a few times; but with my every visit, there’s always something new for me to discover. After an hour of walking, I came across this remarkable cafe at the corner of the Fine Arts Building called Artist Cafe. The smell of fresh coffee, pancakes and bacon was just too hard to resist, so I decided to have a sit down breakfast instead of getting myself something to go. I have all the time on my side and had to remind myself constantly that I’m on a holiday. Hahaha!

I ordered myself a Ham & Cheese Omelette, French Toast, a side of Bacon and Coffee (non decaf, of course). The servers are dressed casually with bright smiles on their face, that made it a jolly place to have a meal. Also, the lady who took my order was kind enough to gave me more bacon strips and a croissant, free of charge. What a nice treat for a tourist like me, don’t you think? The food was good and it fueled me up to last the whole day. It was a hearty meal that I didn’t bother getting lunch. They gave generous portions and the servers pay attention to their diners. Now, that’s excellent customer service right there!

And after that fabulous breakfast, I decided to walk a couple more blocks and saw this book shop called Prairie Avenue. It’s an artsy book lovers paradise, as this store caters to architecture and interior design enthusiast. I don’t consider myself an art connoisseur, but they did carry books for DIY aficionados like me. So I bought a couple books and headed out the door. A couple more blocks of walking and I’ve brought myself on the north side of Michigan Avenue they call, the Magnificent Mile. Where there’s 900 shops waiting — a shopaholics dream come true! Thank heavens , I left my credit cards back home. I must have been thinking ahead when I did that. Hahaha!

After window shopping and almost six hours of walking, I decided to take a cab back to the hotel. By the time I got there, I was ready to check in. I went up to my room (that was absolutely beautiful, paired with a wonderful view of the Chicago River), rested a little bit, took a shower and headed out again. This time, I don’t know exactly where I was heading. I’m just taking it slow, maybe I’ll get some more fresh air or if the museums open late night; I can probably take a peek. I have no plans in mind and I’ll go where my legs take me. The night is young and I have a whole city to explore!

19 comments

  1. thess · September 28, 2007

    aha! another reyes on the move! sistaaaaaaahhhhh, enjoy your vacation!! teka bakit ang laki ng bed mo ha? *wink*

    I’ve the chance to sit a bit longer in front of my laptop (due to volleyball injury but I dont care!!) so here I am, sending you my love..so..

    lab yah and enjoy Chicago!

    (btw, nice pictures…don’t forget the food, eh)

  2. banggigay · September 28, 2007

    wooopeee! the nomadic life has plagued you eh? 🙂 enjoy your trip, make sure though you’d share it later 😉 whilst i drive to anilao for another weekend dive. yay! we’re young and we’re free! luv it!

  3. rollercoastermom · September 28, 2007

    what a great way to start your vacation! 😀 your room looks super fab! ang sarap mahiga! and your breakfast got me craving for french toast and bacon. lots and lots of bacon! hope you enjoy the rest of your trip! oh, you might want to stop by giordano’s pizza and carsons ribs. YUMMY! 😀

  4. Meeya · September 28, 2007

    chicago is so picturesque no? i love the vibe of that city. 🙂

    btw, have you considered taking that touristy hop-on hop-off bus tour? we took that (it starts at sears tower) tapos we just got off at any of the stops, roamed around, took pictures, and then waited for another bus to arrive to go to another stop naman. we covered a lot of the city at our own pace and it saved us a lot of walking and parking fees hehe.

  5. bw · September 28, 2007

    That plane hanging on the ceiling is awesome ! In my last trip to Chicago I checked in at a Holiday Inn and their lobby was at the 15th storey of a pretty tall building. Quite strange I thought 🙂 Well, have fun at the Windy City bro. It’s a great city to shop 🙂

  6. cheh · September 28, 2007

    hey that’s my bed! sa pangarap:)

    Happy weekend nell! Ingat palagi!

  7. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    hello sister thess! i am enjoying every bit of this holiday, just like you. i really appreciate you sending me your love all the way from the city of smiles. as in super touch ang iyong sister here! the bed ba kamo? i decided to get a bigger bed, it may come in handy, hahahah. landicious ko talaga! but seriously, i think most of the rooms have big beds as it’s more comfy nga naman. dba? thanks for the kind words and kisses from windy city. mwaaaah =)

  8. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    hi bangge! medyo nahawa na rin ako sayong nomadic syndrome. im glad i took some days off and spend it here in chicago. medyo drained na rin kasi ang isip ko, kelangan mag-recharge ng battery. hehehe! enjoy your dive in anilao, i look forward to joining you in one of your dives in the future. stay happy, stay young and stay free (that didn’t sound right? but what the heck!) we’ll share more of my travel when i get back, promise =)

  9. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    thank you, kris! i was so surprised to see how fab the room was, add to that the picturesque view of the chicago river. mas melodramatic ang feel lalo na pag gabi. feels like im in some movie, hahaha! i had pizza the other night, that deep dish one. so delish =)

  10. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    you are so right, meeya! it really is picturesque lalo na pagsapit ng gabi. feeling ko eh im in a hollywood movie. hahaha! i did the double decker ride yesterday and it was a wonderful ride. gwapo rin nong guide namin, hahaha! iba palang view ang tinitingnan ko =)

  11. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    hello bw! there were a couple more planes hanged like that around the airport, it’s a unique piece of artwork if you ask me. heheheh! there’s really a lot of nice buildings here in chicago and super tall pa.

    im really enjoying myself here, there’s just one more stop i had to do and ill be heading home na. grabe, bilis ng araw!

  12. sardonicnell · September 28, 2007

    hi cheh! the beds so nice and comfy. wish i had someone to share it with. chicka lang! have a great week end as well, mwaaah!

  13. munchkinmommy · September 29, 2007

    hi nell! i’m happy to see that you’re having fun. wala bang napi-pick up na vibes ang iyong gaydar? kami kaya kailan makakapasyal sa chicago? 😀

    enjoy your holiday! mmwah!

  14. sardonicnell · September 30, 2007

    hello weng! it was a great three day vacation. my gaydar was in full swing when i visited this dance club called atmosphere. but i didn’t stay long to hook up with anyone (LOL), just had a couple drinks. that’s all! pasyal ka sa chicago, it’s really nice. specially this time of the year. not too cold, not hot either. but i must warn you, it sure was windy!

  15. Rino · September 30, 2007

    Awesome photos Nell! Can’t wait for my visit late October. How’s the weather so far?

  16. sardonicnell · September 30, 2007

    hello friendship! thanks so much for the visit and for your kind comment. the weather? when i was there, it was about 65-70’s. so it was neither hot or cold. but you know how windy it is. enjoy chicago, friend! there’s always something new to discover in that city =)

  17. Jen · October 1, 2007

    Wow, more pics!!! Love your hotel bed.. fabulous!!!

  18. sardonicnell · October 1, 2007

    thanks jen! the hotel i stayed was really nice. gulat nga rin ako, kasi it looks gorgeous. and the view from my room, that’s priceless =)

  19. Pingback: Hominelli – My Chicago Pizza Experience

Leave a Reply

