Cost Me Shop At Costco

I’ve been getting lots of phone calls from family members. “When are you going to Costco?” Lately, I haven’t had the time to shop. A bit busy at work and then there’s also my side jobs. So it’s really hard for me to go some place that’s not along the way. On top of that,  I’ve been trying to finish most of the stuff in my pantry. I really don’t want seeing food in the garbage.

But since I’ve been getting so many request from family members and my pantry almost empty, I decided to drive to Costco and finally get this shopping done. I left work at 5 PM and was on the phone for a good half hour taking orders and request. I had a long lists, now I regret ever asking. What did I get myself into?  

Costco, like Ikea is one of my favorite places to shop. There’s so much to buy, but never enough money in my checking account or credit card to satisfy my purchasing quirk. Told myself that I was only buying a couple bottles of wine, some whole chicken, a sushi platter (really craving for it), salad veggies, eggs and fruit juices. But I ended buying books, about five of them (my reason? they’re priced less than bookstores and I have a $2 off coupon). Add some clothes — a fleece jacket and a couple shirts. Of course, there’s the stuff for the cats and some laundry items. Then there’s stuff for my nephew — cookies, juices, yoghurt, chips and gallons of fresh milk. There’s also Dad’s stuff, mostly meats, microwaveable dinners and seafoods. Mom? She made me buy items to decorate the bathroom, and ask that it be color coordinated (she’s a pain, promise!). And just when I thought I was done, my sister called asking that I buy dinner. So I grabbed some pizza and ready-to-eat pasta dish from the deli section. I am tired and I’m definitely not cooking! Lines were long as expected, but fast. So after a 15 minute wait, I was at the cash register. Grand total? I didn’t bother looking at the receipt. Why? Cause I’m not paying for it. Why do you think I volunteered to do the shopping? Cause Dad is paying for everything. Let’s charged it to his American Express. Hahahah!

Just Kibitzing: Try Yalumba Muscat NV Wine, it’s absolutely delicious. Sweet as candied raisins and figs. There’s also EOS Tears of Dew Moscato, that has a hint of apples and apricots in it. They’re both dessert wines and equally good. I can definitely vouch for this two, promise!

15 comments

  1. eric aka senor enrique · September 20, 2007

    My favorite item at Costco is their large plastic container of cashew nuts 🙂

  2. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    oh yes, that big container of cashews. kirkland yong brand name. right? my mom loves munching that as she watches TV, hehehe.

    there’s so many things to buy at costco, but never enough time and money. dba? hahahahah 😀

  3. cee cee · September 20, 2007

    napuno ba ang trunk mo? tell tito, add din nya ako as extension to his amex, bwahaha!

  4. banggigay · September 20, 2007

    of all the chores, doing the grocery is my fave! and seeing all these photos, just makes me drool! bat wala costco sa pinas??? kainis!

  5. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    hello bangge! masarap talaga mag-grocery shopping. dami kasing nakikita eh. what i like best about costo, is that every isle has free samples of their new stuff (libreng chibog) and i save a lot kasi wholesale ang prices nila. dba may makro dyan sa manila, is that the same as costco?

  6. rollercoastermom · September 20, 2007

    i came across your site while blog hopping 🙂 the sushi platter looks absolutely delish!

  7. munchkinmommy · September 20, 2007

    i don’t know why we haven’t ever thought of getting membership at any of the warehouse clubs. maybe it’s because we’re just 2 adults and a toddler in the house? hee hee! matagal kasi ako maggrocery, baka pag sa warehouse, e naku, abutin na ako ng maghapon! kahit kasi maglista pa ako kunyari ng bibilhin, ang dami ko pa ring madadampot na hindi kasali sa listahan! hahaha!

    i love ikea! and i don’t care what some people say about stuff in there being cheap and made in china, etcetera etcetera. for one, hindi naman made in china lahat ano..yung mga basong binili ko, made in russia; yung alkansya ni abby, made in spain!o ha! hmp! sorry, na-carried away ako. hahaha! 😉

  8. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    thanks for visit, roller coaster mom! i sure did eat a lot of raw fish that night. like you said, it was indeed delish! even my nephew liked it — the tamago, ebi and veggie cali roll. he passed on the fish though, and i didn’t expect him to like it. and the price wasn’t that bad at all, so much less than sushi bars =)

    ps: i hope you dont mind me adding you to my blogroll. God bless!

  9. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    hello weng, you and i should shop at costco and will be stuck there for the whole day. hahaha! there’s only four of us in the house, yet we shopped at costo. the prices unbeatable kasi eh and you know how kids like their munchies. so we always need to have some available. otherwise, our toddler here will be complaining to his lolo. hahaha! why not try it for a year, i think it’s 50 bucks for two cards. yan hah! nag endorse na raw ako ng costco, hahaha!

    ikea, love love love them. like you, i dont care what other people says about there stuff. they have lots of good items naman at reasonable prices. and tama ka, di naman lahat made in china. my silverwares from there and they’re made somewhere in europe. there plain white dishes is also nice, made in spain yata din yon. and my book shelves, got it from them as well. they’re pretty sturdy and i like the modern appeal — industrial flare. less than buying it from target or walmart. now, dont get started on target, i can go on and on. hahahah =)

  10. Meeya · September 20, 2007

    ako rin costco fan hahah! actually member kami ng both sams and costco, pero i personally prefer costco (mababait kasi ang mga tao at masayahin pa). i also love the free samples (pikon sa akin ang asawa ko dito kasi ginagawa ko daw cocktail party ang pagpunta sa costco! e bakit ba, libre pica-pica eh, hehehe).

    pero usually, we buy our non-perishables from costco at the wholesale price – like tissue paper, paper towels, laundry soap and softeners, juice boxes, paper plates, etc. mas mura kasi talaga as compared to the regular supermarkets. yung meats and veggies, hindi namin mabili diyan kasi pam-baranggay ang portions. 😀 have you tried the tiramisu sa costco? bumili ako ng isa nun, ako lang ang umubos! sarap! 😀

    but i do buy my sushi from target… mas sarap eh hehehe!

    weng, kami rin 3 lang sa family pero.. wala lang hahaha!

  11. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    hahahah! ganyan din ako, meeya. sinusuyod ko lahat ng samples. libre yata yon hah! my sister would tease me about this, but like i use to say “carebears ko!” hahahah. free is free, kaya nga nan dyan eh. dba? talagang may justification pa tayo noh? hahahaha!

    matry ko nga yong tiramisu nila pati sushi ng target, babalik ako ngayong week end. pero masarap ang cheese cake nila sa costco, na try mo na? they also have wide selections of wines, including cabernet! *wink* *wink* just bought two bottles of cabernet, try provenance and simi. both equally good!

    cin cin. sallute =)

  12. bw · September 21, 2007

    I was at Costco last Sunday too and got full with the many free food samples at every corner of the aisle 🙂

    Their roasted chicken is a treat too. We snacked on pizza and ice cream at their cheap restaurant and my wife could not resist munching on the plump chicken leg which we were supposed to bring home 🙂

  13. sardonicnell · September 20, 2007

    ow cee cee, loka loka ka talaga! sobra naman eto, di naman napuno ang trunk. kong napuno ko yon eh for sure, rereklamo si daddy. hehehe! tell your dad to add you to his account, im sure he won’t mind. hahaha 😀

  14. sardonicnell · September 21, 2007

    oh yes! you’re right, bw. there roasted chicken is good, moist and tender. and it’s only five bucks, not bad at all. same with there pizza and there churros, sarap! my fave is there polish sausage and soda for less than $2. seems like they’re giving food away, noh! dami rin pala nating costo fans, hahaha =)

  15. ellen · February 16, 2008

    Where is costco in Mla? How much is the membership fee? Is there a parking fee?

    hello ellen, i think the local version of costco in manila would be makro. not sure though if there is one back in the philippines, ang alam ko kasi eh sa north america meron. the regular memberships run around fifty bucks, hope this helps 😉

Leave a Reply

