Counting One, Two, Three…

I just finished watching the movie, The Ultimate Gift. And I can’t help but feel heartened and truly blessed. Made me realize how good I’ve had it. I’m not some wealthy fellow, but I’m also not deprived. I live knowing that I’ve been showered with the ultimate gifts, that life has to offer. 

In both the movie and the book, it shows that the most important things in life are mostly right in front of us.  There’s the gift of work, money, friends, family, problems, dreams, a day, laughter, giving, gratitude and love.  I’ve never looked at problems and better days as ultimate gifts, but now that someone mentioned it; they may very well be. Problems make us vulnerable and keep both our feet on the ground. Feeling helpless sometimes is part of being human. I’ve also never looked at  better days as something meaningful, but later realized that some people don’t get a chance at getting up the next day and see the sun as it rises and as it falls. Looks like what is indeed essential, is invisible to the naked eyes… 

When upon life’s billows you are tempest tossed,
When you are discouraged, thinking all is lost,
Count your many blessings, name them one by one,
And it will surprise you what the Lord hath done.

Just a passing thought. Human nature dictates that there’s never enough, that the world is ours to conquer. But now I’m left thinking, do we really need the world just for ourselves? Quite selfish, isn’t it?

4 comments

  1. thess · August 24, 2007

    what a wonderful and meaningful short poem, Nell 🙂 you’re absolutely right, what we all need is to have a thankful heart and give glory to The Almighty for all He’s given us.

    I have no trouble sharing my world…that’s my blessing =)

    have a good weekend Nell..big hug from moi!

  2. sardonicnell · August 24, 2007

    thank you, sis thess! the movie made me do a reality check. there are times kasi reklamo tayo ng reklamo, nakalimutan na natin magbilang ng grasya, dba?

    i’d have no problem sharing the world as well, i think i can coexist! have a wonderful week end and God bless :o)

  3. banggigay · August 26, 2007

    world to me is a place to discover..and as we discover new grounds, we’d be able to taste its sweetness with a hope that whilst we explore new territories & savour its sweetness we have a perennial person to share it with 🙂

  4. sardonicnell · August 26, 2007

    like what you said, bangge! let’s savour it’s sweetness and share it. how was your trip in KL?

Leave a Reply

