Aja! Korean Novelas

Since “Lovers in Paris” came on primetime TFC two months ago, I must admit that I’ve made use of my Tevo quite frequently. However, after watching my pre-recorded episodes on TV; I always get this feeling of bitin, left wanting for more. Sounds absurd? But that’s how bakya or should I say tasteless I am when it comes to entertainment. I get amused easily, contrary to what people would think of me — my pleasures in life is modest.

My dear mother was the person who got me started on this korean soap opera. She asked me to watch it with her one time, and the rest is pretty much history. Soap operas can definitely turn a person into a lunatic. Don’t you think? Then I found out from my cousins in Manila, that this soap use to be successful flick back home. I just had to ask them a huge favor, getting it for me in DVD or VCD format. With English or Tagalog subtitles, of course. So I put a stop to my impatience and hanker over korean novelas.

Friday afternoon, I got this small package from Manila and guess what’s inside? My very own Lovers in Paris DVD, I was ecstatic! I just had to call my mother and she was screaming excitedly on the phone. Two hours after, she’s at my door step. We watched it Friday night till Saturday afternoon, we were both going crazy about the love triangle: Ki Joo (Carlo)  Tae Yung (Vivian) and Soo Hyuk (Martin). We finished a box of tissue, taken by our emotions while watching the melodramatic portions of the film. I just had to laugh at myself over my own theatrical performance, crying and then giggling. What an outburst of emotion,we looked hilarious! Twenty four hours after, it finally came to a conclusion — still I was feeling bitin. But it was a delight from start to finish. It was super kilig to the bones!

Hmmm, I wonder what’s next after Lovers in Paris?

14 comments

  1. abbyG. · July 9, 2007

    hehee, i watched Full House naman, it’s also a koreanovela, and nakaka-aliw! I also have Lovers in Paris and another one about dancing etc., pero di ko pa napapanood. 🙂

  2. sardonicnell · July 9, 2007

    hi abby! how’s your day off? hope you’re enjoying every moment of it. grabe ang kilig ko watching lovers in paris, hehehe. i heard that stairway to heaven is also good. i think i’ll get full house, too. where did you get it? thanks in advance. God bless =)

  3. abbyG. · July 10, 2007

    galing din sa manila! 🙂

  4. sardonicnell · July 10, 2007

    thanks, i’ll phone my cousin to get me more korean novelas. hehehe =)

  5. jo · July 20, 2007

    wow! we’re so much alike! i even called relatives in Philippines to get me the dvd’s too. may i ask where they bought it? thanks!

  6. sardonicnell · July 20, 2007

    hello jo! thanks for the visit. my cousins said they bought it in a tiangge somewhere in QC. that’s all i know eh. God bless!

  7. jo · July 20, 2007

    I got one from Ebay, kaso English subtitle lang.Mas kilig kung tagalog, hahaha!Thx sa info. I’ll tell my cuz to check sa tiangge.. Watch mo din yung Lovers, maganda din daw, sila din yung naging true-to-life lovers. Take care. Aja! 🙂

  8. Lillian Menor · August 1, 2007

    Aja! version is so wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing. Totoong kilig. I made my officemate kilig to it too. Tho’I just translate it to them, kilig din sila and everyday they are waiting for my story.

    Kahit natapos ko na sa internet, I kept on watching pa rin. You are right parang kulang.

    Thanks again for sharing.

  9. sardonicnell · August 1, 2007

    thanks for the visit, lillian. thanks for the kind words as well. addicting talaga ang korean novelas. i’ve even asked my cousins to buy me more dvd’s in manila, hehehe.

  10. Malu · May 27, 2008

    Hi there,

    there are sites online that gives you complete episodes of korean novelas. Crunchyroll.com and my soju.com are good sites to watch. Actually, mysoju.com is the best out of all of them. Better to watch them during daytime (US time) than night. It gets bogged down at night. ENJOY!!!


    thanks so much, malu. love the name, which also happens to be my mom’s nickname. and thank you for sharing these sites, for sure eh magbabad ako online nito. hehehe :mrgreen:

  11. Malu · June 9, 2008

    Sige babad ka sa mysoju.com. That’s what I’ve been doing LOL 🙂


    i’ve been doing that whenever i had a chance na magbabad, hehehe. mom’s enjoying it, too. thanks again for sharing this site, malu 😉

  12. Francesca Verrill · December 24, 2009

    Simply want to say your article is impressive. The clearness in your post is simply impressive and i can take for granted you are an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your rss feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the sound work

    • sardonicnell · February 20, 2010

      thanks so much francesa, much appreciate your kind comment!

  13. Ashley · January 25, 2011

    I loved this drama so much, I love all korean dramas sadly they seem to be hard for me to get a hold of.
    The first drama that got me hooked was the jdorma called Long Vactaion then i think Lover in paris was the first korean on,e cant remember but i am glad i found these dramas they put a smile on my face. If your down, kdrama or jdorma or one of their movies are bound to cheer you up easily 😀
    I just got a korean tattoo on my wrist saying love am thinking of getting my other wrist saying aja *fighting* at some point.

Leave a Reply

