Fresh out of the Box

Was browsing Barnes & Noble  and Borders website couple nights ago looking for some good reads (the plan was to purchase one book). After finishing Naslund, Ericsson and Frasers “Marie Antoinette”  books, I’ve been craving for more historic classics. I was quite surprise when I found out that B&N’s having a summer sale, including literary award winning and best selling books. The price was insanely discounted, 50% additional reduction of the clearance amount. A bit impossible to resist, don’t you think? Took me forever deciding which one to get. I couldn’t get just one, I ended with six books. I did my best to fight the urge, but I’m powerless over book sales. And what’s worse? I charged it on my credit card. Yahtzee!

The Constant Princess by Philippa Gregory. I’ve red her last book, The Boleyn Inheritance, and really liked it. Hopefully, this book would be another page-turner. It’s the story of Katherine (of Aragon) from the royal court of Spain, who was to be the future Queen of England.

The Queen of Subtleties: A Novel of Anne Boleyn by Suzannah Dunn. Thought I’d read another Boleyn novel, from another writers perspective. I’m always fascinated of novels who has this Joan of Arc’ish lead characters and I think Anne Boleyn possess this kind of charm.

Madame Bovary by Gustavo Faulbert. According to Michel Gaultier, it’s a genius story of human frailty and liberation — a tragic classic. So, I’ll give a shot. It was a suggested read after finishing Edith Whartons, Summer. They say the plot of the story was similar. From innocence to lustful desires, reviews says that it’s an erotic tale.

Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy. I red it back in college, took me two months to finish reading it. I was swamp with home work back then, too. I lost the book somewhere between our move and so, I’m putting it back in my collection.

The Charterhouse of Parma by Stendahl (pen name). Mister Reichman, my Historical Writing professor back in college told me about this book; it’s his personal fave along with The Brothers Karamazov. Which I think is one of the best works of Fyodor Dostoevsky.

The Complete Jane Austen Collection, which includes Persuasion, Emma, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Senbility etc. Let’s see the difference between this book and the movie (which by the way, was pretty good – Pride & Prejudice. The one starring Keira Knightley). I’ve planned to read this book first, 715 pages!

2 comments

  1. Jen · June 30, 2007

    OooOoOoOoOO! You’ve got some heavy reading there! What steals! I’m going to finish Anna Karenina someday, I swear. Hmm, maybe I should hop on over to B&N — I am sucker for book sales too (even though I’m super loyal to Borders, LOL).

  2. sardonicnell · June 30, 2007

    hi jen! really got good deals from barnes. all six books for like $35 including S&H. steal na talaga! but i’ve had some good deals from borders, too. i remember buying chic-lits like 4 blondes, in her shoes, devil wears prada, lipstick jungle at our local borders; for like $3-5 each at hardcover pa yan hah. syempre, buy na naman ang bakla! hahahah. anna karenina, mahabahaba talagang panahon yan. took me two months myself, hehehe. thanks for visiting my blog =)

Leave a Reply

