Dutch Goodies

My good friend Magdalena came to visit us last week . I’ve always known her as a “spur of the moment – kinda” gal, so getting a phone call from her at 11 pm to pick her up at San Francisco Airport was totally normal. She did tell us she was coming to visit (since she needs some documents from the university), but she never gave a date nor time. Her odd habits can be annoying at times, but I love her nonetheless. She came all the way from Haarlem, Netherlands without even giving us a warning. How sweet of her, huh?

It’s been almost five years since I last saw her. Last time we bonded was back in Gastein on a side trip to Salzburg, Austria. I was happy to see her again, it’s nice to have a friend around when feeling a bit dispirited. Her presence was adequate enough to compensate the years we’ve missed. But true to  her “half-pinoy” roots, she brought some goodies from her home country — chocolates, waffle chips, nougat, maasdamer cheese, matzos etc. She gave us a big bag full of munchies.  And I didn’t waste time digging in.

I thought the surprise was over (seriously, the goodies was good enough), till she handed me a paper bag the next morning.

“Here’s my pasalubong for you, girlfriend! Hope you like it.” she said, then she gobbled a hand full on “cornick.” ( which by the way, is her favorite; mine too! )

I opened the bag and was extremely pleased (like a child getting a present on his birthday). New “birk” thongs from my good friend, Magdalena. (Thank you, girlfriend!)

2 comments

  1. banggigay · June 7, 2007

    awww! ang sweet! pakilala mo sa ‘kin! 🙂 i like receiving presents too no matter how big or small, basta nag-effort and ni-surprise ako! 🙂

    btw, i tagged you to a meme, hop to my crib to get the drift 🙂

  2. sardonicnell · June 7, 2007

    magda is a darling. she was a good friend from my collegiate years at CSU. after graduation, she went back to amsterdam. nasobrang suprise talaga ako sa gift nya, she said that whenever she sees someone wearing birks; it reminds her of me, hehehe.

    thanks for the tag!

Leave a Reply

