Moving Picture

Conversations with God. It was one touching movie. I’m no spiritual person, but the title was interesting; so I decided to watch it. It was one mans journey from life’s lowest point to it’s greatest dream. Henry Czerny gives a compelling performance in this true to life drama about the most spiritual experience a person can have. When his world crumbles around him due to  a car accident, no job, no home and a debilitating injury. He demands an explanation for his suffering… and to his astonishment, receives an answer that will transform his world. Inspiring and tremendously affecting.

Love! Valour! Compassion!  This big screen adaptation of playwright Terrence McNally’s Broadway hit, that revolves around the tender bonding of eight gay New Yorkers. Overtime, men meet at a picturesque lakeside home to share stories, reminisce and rekindle commitments. There’s a couple nude scenes (nothing new), but all done quite artistically. Reminded me of my days in Castro and the friends I made during my heydays. I wonder how they are?

Come Early Morning. A southern beauty whose habit of waking up in strange beds with head-ringing hangover. It’s a story about Lucy, who seem to have fallen in downward spiral of alcohol and one night stands. Lucy will have to look deep into her familial past and seek out her self destructive ways. It will uncover some secret shrouded family past and discovering the truth about the woman she has become. It’s an intimate personal drama with a country flare.

” Talk to me about the truth of religion and I’ll listen gladly. Talk to me about the duty of religion and I’ll listen submissively. But don’t come talking to me about the consolations of religion or I shall suspect that you don’t understand. ”

-C.S. Lewis-

Leave a Reply

