Daily Archives: February 5, 2008

To The Greatest Man In My Life

Me and my father have this very odd connection. We’re really not that close, compared to his relationship with my siblings. And there are times that I do get jealous, wishing I can be the son he wanted. But then, I’m not and there’s nothing I can do to reverse such a tragedy. But nonetheless, father did learn to love me. He’s slowly starting to embrace the bizarre side of my being. Our relationships not exactly perfect, but we do see eye to eye most of the time. And as we’re both getting older, we’ve learned that there’s no such thing as too late. That there’s always a place and time to pick up all the pieces and mend what was once broken. Thanks for reaching out, Pops. And this may sound unmanly, but I do love you for that quirky guy that you are…

God took the strength of a mountain,
The majesty of a tree,
The warmth of a summer sun,
The calm of a quiet sea,
The generous soul of nature,
The comforting arm of night,
The wisdom of the ages,
The power of the eagle’s flight,
The joy of a morning in spring,
The faith of a mustard seed,
The patience of eternity,
The depth of a family need,
Then God combined these qualities,
When there was nothing more to add,
He knew His masterpiece was complete,
And so, He called it … DAD

Pops

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.